We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Tontine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tontine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Tontine Hotel for ten days, I found the hotel staff friendly and welcoming. My room was warm, clean and well equipped. The ensuite was recently renovated to a high and modern standard.
The bar is cosy and welcoming in an "old school" style, with attentive friendly staff. The menu was varied good value and good quality. My stay at the hotel required me to miss breakfast, but the hotel provided me with a packed lunch instead of breakfast. The packed lunch wasn't great, but the provision of the lunch was beyond what most other hotels would offer. I have already recommended the Tontine Hotel to my colleagues, and wouldn't hesitate staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diverbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

It can't be easy running a hotel in Greenock. But the Tontine does it very well. A lovely old listed 18th century building in the west end of Greenock, it has been recently modernised inside and updated. Rooms are clean, service is friendly, food is fine, and the 'function' areas are well run, professional and good value. Recommended if you are in the area or wanting to organise an event.

Room Tip: All pretty good. Rooms at the back are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VonUngernSternberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

i stayed here over night with my husband and baby girl the room we had was big enough for us 3 and they had a travel cot set up for us too good for an over night stay the only thing was we had a room that the window faced out to a skip

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanthalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here several times on business & have always found the staff to be pleasant & helpful. The rooms are clean & have been recently refurbished. There is everything you would need for a stay. Nice big bathrooms. As its an old building there are some nice features. The only thing I would mark it down for is the squeaky beds. In every room I've stayed the bed has squeaked... A nice enough breakfast with a choice of cooked or continental. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brockuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Fantastic place to hold your wedding reception great food and very good staff nothing is a bother to them especially Mr tommy Hutchinson had a fantastic day.Everyone had a great nite My son and his new wife spent the nite there and said that it was first class why go out of town when we have a beautiful hotel in Greenock .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowina754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile


On arrival the hotel looked impressive, located near the marina for nice walks.
The hotel is decorated to a good standard and is kept reasonably clean. As the hotel is old there are a lot of squeaky floors, of which you can tell when people are walking past your room.
The rooms look to have been recently updated with stunning bathroom, however the forgot to update the bed... It even squeaked when you breath!!!
Food in the hotel was very disappointing with service in the restaurant to match, I was that disappointed with my evening meal that for breakfast the next morning I stuck with a box of Kellogg's.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireWalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel in one of the executive rooms. The room was in the modern wing of the hotel and on the ground floor. First impressions were disappointing as the view from the window was of a large industrial skip! However, the room itself was recently refurbished, clean and well appointed. The large walk-in shower was perfect. We ate in the hotel on one night - the only people in the dining room - but the food was fine. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of options.
This hotel is a very popular function venue and on the weekend we stayed it was exceptionally busy with several functions taking place on the same day. Despite this the staff took time to welcome us and we never felt rushed.Each member of staff we encountered was very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Some executive rooms overlook the garden. Larger, more expensive rooms available in the old part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calinda_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenock
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
0.7 mi away
Custom House Hotel
Custom House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Spinnaker Hotel
The Spinnaker Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gourock
143 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#5 of 5 in Greenock
36 reviews
7.5 mi away
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tontine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel

Address: 6 Ardgowan Square, Greenock PA16 8NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Greenock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Price Range: £70 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tontine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Greenock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing