We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!”
Review of Tontine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tontine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Certificate of Excellence
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Such a gem of a hotel!! Booked in for a wee night away and absolutely loved it!! There was a wedding on in the hotel on the Saturday night but heard no noise at all from it which was great!!
Stayed in room 9 which overlooked the road and the bowling green but heard no noise at all from traffic. Lovely spacious room and bathroom, great touch having a DVD player as the telly was rubbish :p and the bed.....oh wow!!! So comfortable that we slept in and missed breakfast!!
The young lad on reception could not have been more helpful (didn't catch his name sadly) and the bar prices were very reasonable!!
Overall a brilliant place to stay and I certainly hope to return!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh_Elder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    113
    40
    17
    8
See reviews for
74
98
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

After a long road trip we arrive at the hotel at lot early than check in time. A change of allocated room allowed us in 3 hours early. We enjoyed and great bar meal and love our room which overlooked the rear garden and private parking area. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathew_paulgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We booked in the Tontine very last minute as there was a mix up with the hotel were we were meant to be spending two nights at, it turned out they only had one night available... very glad for the double booking now!

The lady on reception was extremely friendly and very efficient. I hate the whole check in process and the time it takes, but this was quick and straightforward.

We had a family type room, which meant that our daughter was in the lounge room part of the room and we were in a separate room. The pull out sofa bed was excellent and our 13 year old said it was very comfy. Our room was very tastefully decorated and the bed extremely comfortable. The bathroom had everything you needed and was well lit.

The included breakfast had all the usual offerings plus a few nice variations and was a tasty, filling start to our day.

I would definitely stay at the hotel again!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank aussiegreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed for one night on the way over to Dunoon and were very pleased with the accommodation and the breakfast that we had. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Drinks in the bar are not a rip off either unlike some of the larger chains.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourerbycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We Have just returned from a two night stay at the Tontine as we were taking in the Dunoon Highland games and this was the nearest hotel wi could get and we booked in January. I have to say it was very enjoyable.
The staff were very nice and friendly and made you feel very welcome and nothing was a bother to them.
Rooms were fresh and clean and well decorated and the shower room was lovely tiled only problem was we had no hot water on both mornings I think you would have to get up very early for this,however we mentioned it to the young lady on check out and she could not have been more apolojetic and asked us had we mentioned it the previous day which we could well have and i'm sure the matter would have been resolved for us.
Food was very nice as well and reasonably priced.
If I had one minor complaint it would be the breakfast lovely selection and ample for those who liked a full english but no alternative for anyone who did not like this or was vegetarian but like the hot water situation I am sure if you asked there would be something else, might be a good idea when staff are bringing beverages etc they could mention any other options.
All in all highly recommended hotel and we will be returning next year if the Dunoon Highland games are still going on.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruise093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

booked a room for one night for some friends, who'm i had always previously checked into the Holiday inn express, and i have to say, that if i had known the rooms were so nice in this hotel before, i would have booked my friends into this hotel instead, because i have to say it, i think the rooms are so much nicer, and we also had a meal at night which was very good and reasonably priced!! i think i will be booking my friends into this hotel again in the future if they ever decide to visit again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the hotel for 1 night. The young man on reception was extremely polite and helpful throughout our stay. We booked into a superior room, but had to climb 2 flights of stairs to reach, not conducive to anyone with heath problems. Our room was very tastefully decorated but lacked attention to detail a simple thing like paper tissues would have been appreciated. One of our very rare hot summer days saw a stifling hot room withou any means of cooling it down. Whilst the room had 2 large windows we were facing the main road and above the main reception gathering are where the guests of a wedding party were in full voice into the early hours of the morning. This made it impossible for us to sleep. It would have been so nice, if some thought had been given to the hot day and a possible fan placed in the room. Breakfast was a disappointment, my husband ordered toast but that was never brought to the table and we had to ask. The fried eggs on the buffet were of a rubber consistency. Was this all just bad timing on our breakfast slot and bad timing that there was a wedding reception in full force.

Room Tip: Check before hand if there is a wedding reception, if so do not go for the superior rooms facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenock
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
0.7 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Spinnaker Hotel
The Spinnaker Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gourock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
3.2 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tontine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel

Property: Tontine Hotel
Address: 6 Ardgowan Square, Greenock PA16 8NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Greenock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tontine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Greenock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing