We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Heart of Greenock”
Review of Tontine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tontine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed at the Tontine on business this summer and really enojoyed the hotel. Good food, great location, and great service staff. Had some internet problems and they went out of their way to get me online and working. Good food at the hotel and several great places within walking distance. For a different place to stay instead of a run of the mill hotel this is a place you should visit.

Room Tip: The rooms to the back will be quieter and you won't be bothered by the lights on the main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Overnight stay on business in December 2013. Nothing to dislike but nothing to recommend it either. Room was clean and warm. Shower was spacious and hot. TV was small and restricted in choice of channels. Wi-fi didn't work for my Mac. Standard breakfast. The locals were all friendly, but I couldn't get out of Greenock fast enough. Went for a stroll before dinner and on the High Street I recognised every single (chain) store, every shred of individuality has been scoured from this town. Glasgow is a fun, vibrant city, but the surrounding towns are grim, Stalinist even.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supermalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed for 1 night. Nice hotel. Polite and helpful staff. Food very good. Recommend the Haggis, Neaps and Tatties ! Good sized room. Prices reasonable. I will definitely stay again when on business in Greenock.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanChes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

During a house move we stayed at the Tontine for 4 nights. The room was very clean and reasonably spacious. The breakfast was very good, and having had dinner on a number of previous occasions, we were not disappointed. But the most important comment is that the staff were all very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I go to the Tontine for food fairly regularly. I enjoy the food. I only ever eat in the Lounge as the restaurant menu is rather limited. It's not possible to book a table in the Lounge, however we have always managed to get a table.

My main gripe, and this is really unfortunate that sometimes the service is lacking. I visited twice in October, and both times it was very difficult to get the attention of staff. It's quite annoying having to go up and get more drinks, ask for the bill etc, when you know they are standing chatting instead of checking on people. Also a missed opportunity to sell additional drinks, desserts etc I would think. It's a shame, because it's not always the same service. Some of the staff are good at coming back and checking on you, and it seems that other staff just stand at the bar.

Please please improve this, and I would give an 'excellent'. As i say, I do go fairly regularly because I enjoy the food and atmosphere, and it's local.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesley1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Wonderful clean bathroom and bedroom, great location and friendly staff, only thing I could maybe mention would be that put room was a little noisey as I think we were next to the boiler room? Overall, very reasonably priced and will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Such a gem of a hotel!! Booked in for a wee night away and absolutely loved it!! There was a wedding on in the hotel on the Saturday night but heard no noise at all from it which was great!!
Stayed in room 9 which overlooked the road and the bowling green but heard no noise at all from traffic. Lovely spacious room and bathroom, great touch having a DVD player as the telly was rubbish :p and the bed.....oh wow!!! So comfortable that we slept in and missed breakfast!!
The young lad on reception could not have been more helpful (didn't catch his name sadly) and the bar prices were very reasonable!!
Overall a brilliant place to stay and I certainly hope to return!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh_Elder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenock
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
0.7 mi away
Custom House Hotel
Custom House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Spinnaker Hotel
The Spinnaker Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gourock
144 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#5 of 5 in Greenock
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tontine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel

Address: 6 Ardgowan Square, Greenock PA16 8NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Greenock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Price Range: £75 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tontine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Greenock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing