We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed”
Review of Tontine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tontine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at the Tontine and each time there has been a marked difference for the better as improvements have taken place. Bedrooms have been totally refurbished with new beds added, en-suites are of a really good standard and generally the whole ambience has changed for the better. Lounge and dining rooms are pleasant and comfortable the function room looked very attractive and the small outside beer garden on a good sunny day ideal.
Parking is off street and spacious and the Hotel generally in a quiet area.
Staff are still helpful and attentive and the food is of a good standard. The menu is varied and not all expensive with early bird and standard menu both offering excellent choices and great value.
Situated within a short walk of a much improved town centre and bus station it offers quick access to the Clyde Coastal towns and Glasgow. Good value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ihammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Tontine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We only stayed for one night as we had a wedding dance to attend in Inverkip nearby.
We got easily parked in the private car park at the back of the hotel and received a great welcome from the man on the desk.
Our room was perfectly adequate and roomy and faced the back of the hotel onto the lovely gardened area next to the car park.
The bathroom was obviously fairly new and was very modern.
We were in a bit of a rush as our journey had been longer than expected and when grabbing a bar meal I asked if we could get it as soon as possible, they were very accommodating and I noticed we received our food before 2 other couples which was very much appreciated!
Overall the staff we met were very friendly and helpful, the food was good, the hotel seemed clean and well kept and the room was great. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lainieloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Tontine is a delightful hotel near the centre of Greenock. It is on a quiet street overlooking a park. The room was very clean and comfortable ad the staff were friendly. If you need to stay in Greenock then I would recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny-G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We returned to the Tontine for an 8 night stay in early May. It's an ideal location for the town centre and easy walking distance to the waterfront. The staff are always extremely friendly and welcoming and go out of their way to accomodate your every need. The rooms in the main building have been fairly recently renovated - pleasant decor and spotlessly clean. The bar and restaurant downstairs have a great atmosphere - usually lots of locals in - which is a good indication of quality and value for money. Breakfast is typical scottish fare - plentiful with enormous omelettes available on request. It is also a great venue for weddings, parties etc.

Greenock is a good base for travel to other parts of the south - easy day trips to Edinburgh, Glasgow, Stirling, Dunoon, Largs, Rothesay etc.

I would have no hesitation in returning once again to the Tontine and have recommended it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Room 10 is probably my personal choice, very spacious and comfortable and as it is siuated at the ba...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahLBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights in room 9 at the Tontine in May 2014. Very comfortable & clean with friendly & cheerful staff who welcomed us. Off road parking & a pleasant location. Good meals at reasonable price in restaurant. We came to do family research as I was brought up nearby. Hotel well placed for Watt Library & McLean Museum.

Would stay again. I found some traffic noise in morning but I am a light sleeper. My wife had no problem.
Thank you

Room Tip: Rooms at front are larger but face road. Rooms at rear I understand are smaller & in modern exte...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latetraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited Greenock at short notice to attend a funeral, Our default choice for a short stay would have been the TV comedian's favourite, but fortunately in this case it was full.

The Tontine is an interesting mixture of Georgian and Art Deco, but as previous reviewers have said the décor is getting rather tired (very tired in some places) but despite that, it was scrupulously clean.

We had a premier bedroom i.e. a standard room. It was well appointed and had good quality wooden furniture with plenty of lighting. The only difficulty was downsizing to a standard width double bed - very crowded when you are used to bigger! The bathroom was finished to a standard to match any good four or five star hotel.

The menu was reasonably varied and seemed to be generally of good quality. Of the two evening meals we had, the homemade steak pie was extremely good but the ribeye steak was disappointing. I would recommend going for the 'homelier' dishes. Breakfast is buffet style with a good choice. Alternatives are available on request What sets this hotel apart is the staff.

No need for a carefully crafted questionnaire asking if you felt they cared or made you feel welcome. Every single staff member we encountered, from cleaner to manager, was friendly, cheerful and informative. They really did give the impression that they enjoyed working there.

The worst thing I encountered was bitter served ice cold. Horrible!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the top floor have a very annoying background noise. Not sure which ones so che...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rimpiattino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed for one night when our house was being renovated, room was nicely decorated with a refurbished bathroom. Dinner was very nice and staff were welcoming. Would recommend for anyone staying in the area - it's nice to have a local landmark hotel that is not part of an anonymous chain!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orchard65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenock
0.7 mi away
Custom House Hotel
Custom House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
108 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
2.4 mi away
The Spinnaker Hotel
The Spinnaker Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gourock
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
3.2 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
131 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tontine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel

Address: 6 Ardgowan Square, Greenock PA16 8NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Greenock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Price Range: £72 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tontine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Greenock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing