We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had my wedding reception here”
Review of Tontine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tontine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I had my wedding reception here last year. The planners where very friendly and understanding, not once getting irritated with us for changing things last minute and then changing back. Very accommodating and made our day stress free for us to enjoy.

we had a tight budget and still we got everything we wanted. We had the big room for our wedding and it looked amazing at night time. They kept the bar open late for my family after the wedding had finished so we could speak to everyone leaving and to get a quiet drink after it which was great.

Part of the package included the honeymoon room which is large and has a great bathroom.

Big thanks to this hotel for making our special day brilliant and taking a lot of the pressure and stress away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robob8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Hotel is very welcoming, rooms are clean, light and neat. The staff were friendly and the receptionist was very helpful. The food and service in the bar was very good. Breakfast was nice and I ordered porridge which was not one of the items out on the servery but was got it with no problem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our second stay at the Tontine and as usual an enjoyable stay,friendy staff,comfortable rooms,convenient,happy travellers.Would return and happy to recommend this hotel to friends.Breakfast had a wide variety to choose from.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogandjo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at the Tontine and each time there has been a marked difference for the better as improvements have taken place. Bedrooms have been totally refurbished with new beds added, en-suites are of a really good standard and generally the whole ambience has changed for the better. Lounge and dining rooms are pleasant and comfortable the function room looked very attractive and the small outside beer garden on a good sunny day ideal.
Parking is off street and spacious and the Hotel generally in a quiet area.
Staff are still helpful and attentive and the food is of a good standard. The menu is varied and not all expensive with early bird and standard menu both offering excellent choices and great value.
Situated within a short walk of a much improved town centre and bus station it offers quick access to the Clyde Coastal towns and Glasgow. Good value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ihammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We only stayed for one night as we had a wedding dance to attend in Inverkip nearby.
We got easily parked in the private car park at the back of the hotel and received a great welcome from the man on the desk.
Our room was perfectly adequate and roomy and faced the back of the hotel onto the lovely gardened area next to the car park.
The bathroom was obviously fairly new and was very modern.
We were in a bit of a rush as our journey had been longer than expected and when grabbing a bar meal I asked if we could get it as soon as possible, they were very accommodating and I noticed we received our food before 2 other couples which was very much appreciated!
Overall the staff we met were very friendly and helpful, the food was good, the hotel seemed clean and well kept and the room was great. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lainieloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Tontine is a delightful hotel near the centre of Greenock. It is on a quiet street overlooking a park. The room was very clean and comfortable ad the staff were friendly. If you need to stay in Greenock then I would recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny-G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We returned to the Tontine for an 8 night stay in early May. It's an ideal location for the town centre and easy walking distance to the waterfront. The staff are always extremely friendly and welcoming and go out of their way to accomodate your every need. The rooms in the main building have been fairly recently renovated - pleasant decor and spotlessly clean. The bar and restaurant downstairs have a great atmosphere - usually lots of locals in - which is a good indication of quality and value for money. Breakfast is typical scottish fare - plentiful with enormous omelettes available on request. It is also a great venue for weddings, parties etc.

Greenock is a good base for travel to other parts of the south - easy day trips to Edinburgh, Glasgow, Stirling, Dunoon, Largs, Rothesay etc.

I would have no hesitation in returning once again to the Tontine and have recommended it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Room 10 is probably my personal choice, very spacious and comfortable and as it is siuated at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahLBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenock
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
0.7 mi away
Custom House Hotel
Custom House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
117 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Spinnaker Hotel
The Spinnaker Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gourock
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
7.5 mi away
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
8.8 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tontine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel

Address: 6 Ardgowan Square, Greenock PA16 8NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Greenock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Price Range: £75 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Tontine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Greenock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing