We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tontine Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Waterfront(Greenock)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kilcreggan Hotel(Kilcreggan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
145
124
53
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
124
53
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelpremier roompublic roomscocktail barfried eggssmall hotelhaggisblack puddingbreakfast was excellentold buildingfood was lovelystaff were very friendlytwo nightsvisiting familyenjoyable staybuffet stylebar area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I had my wedding reception here last year. The planners where very friendly and understanding, not once getting irritated with us for changing things last minute and then changing back. Very accommodating and made our day stress free for us to enjoy.

we had a tight budget and still we got everything we wanted. We had the big room for our wedding and it looked amazing at night time. They kept the bar open late for my family after the wedding had finished so we could speak to everyone leaving and to get a quiet drink after it which was great.

Part of the package included the honeymoon room which is large and has a great bathroom.

Big thanks to this hotel for making our special day brilliant and taking a lot of the pressure and stress away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robob8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Hotel is very welcoming, rooms are clean, light and neat. The staff were friendly and the receptionist was very helpful. The food and service in the bar was very good. Breakfast was nice and I ordered porridge which was not one of the items out on the servery but was got it with no problem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our second stay at the Tontine and as usual an enjoyable stay,friendy staff,comfortable rooms,convenient,happy travellers.Would return and happy to recommend this hotel to friends.Breakfast had a wide variety to choose from.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be good
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogandjo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at the Tontine and each time there has been a marked difference for the better as improvements have taken place. Bedrooms have been totally refurbished with new beds added, en-suites are of a really good standard and generally the whole ambience has changed for the better. Lounge and dining rooms are pleasant and comfortable the function room looked very attractive and the small outside beer garden on a good sunny day ideal.
Parking is off street and spacious and the Hotel generally in a quiet area.
Staff are still helpful and attentive and the food is of a good standard. The menu is varied and not all expensive with early bird and standard menu both offering excellent choices and great value.
Situated within a short walk of a much improved town centre and bus station it offers quick access to the Clyde Coastal towns and Glasgow. Good value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ihammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We only stayed for one night as we had a wedding dance to attend in Inverkip nearby.
We got easily parked in the private car park at the back of the hotel and received a great welcome from the man on the desk.
Our room was perfectly adequate and roomy and faced the back of the hotel onto the lovely gardened area next to the car park.
The bathroom was obviously fairly new and was very modern.
We were in a bit of a rush as our journey had been longer than expected and when grabbing a bar meal I asked if we could get it as soon as possible, they were very accommodating and I noticed we received our food before 2 other couples which was very much appreciated!
Overall the staff we met were very friendly and helpful, the food was good, the hotel seemed clean and well kept and the room was great. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lainieloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews