We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Beacon Arts Centre Bistro & Bar
Ranked #27 of 64 Restaurants in Greenock
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Scottish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The first thing I noticed when entering the restaurant area was the smell...not very pleasant. We placed our order & waited & waited, when it came the order was wrong, the staff were very apologetic, when our correct order came, the food was delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlieboy1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    60
    44
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good and quick!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my brief Beacon visit last week. Had some food to takeaway and it was ready very quickly and tasty too. Like all theatre restaurants, it was a little pricey.

Stunning, amazing location. Loved it!

Helpful?
Thank gtravel4298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Much Improved”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I was a bit reluctant to have lunch here as the last two visits were very disappointing. Well, I was pleasantly surprised when we got a very tasty meal. Much improved. The service was very slow. We were 20minutes before anyone came near to take our order and another 45 minutes before our meal arrived. Luckily we were catching up with friends we hadn't sen in a long time so we were busy talking. Hopefully the new management will do something about timing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mab950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Back on Track”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The restaurant appears to be under new management. I recognised the new manager from a popular well run local restaurant. I was there as part of a group of five. The restaurant was quite busy on a Friday lunchtime but we didn't experience the lengthy waits of the past to order and receive our meals. The diners around us seemed to be enjoying their meals. We had a variety of entrees and we all enjoyed them.I was able to request a pasta dish minus the anchovies but there were also several vegetarian options. Staff were friendly and efficient and the meal and drinks were reasonably priced. So pleased at the improvement and friends from out of town were very impressed by the restaurant and the views. They expressed a wish to come back to see a performance at the theatre. Hope our next visit is as good. Give it a go if you've had a bad experience, as we have had in the past. You might be impressed and it would be great for The Beacon and Greenock.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annebryceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julianadorp
Level Contributor
161 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was my second visit this year and after reading some of the latest reviews I was a little apprehensive to go. We had lunch and it was very tasty (homemade soup) The view is out of this world but the building itself is quite ugly, especially beside the beautiful old buildings on Custom House Quay.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieJulianadorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beacon Arts Centre Bistro & Bar also viewed

Greenock, Inverclyde
Greenock, Inverclyde
 
Greenock, Inverclyde
Greenock, Inverclyde
 

Been to Beacon Arts Centre Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing