We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service, but could be more family friendly.”
Review of The Exchange

The Exchange
Ranked #2 of 65 Restaurants in Greenock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Exchange serves food daily from 10am. We have everything from full scottish breakfast to 10oz fillet steaks on our menu. We are proud to announce that all our dishes are prepared using fresh local produce, we dont believe in frozen food!!We have live music every Friday and Saturday night from 9.30pm and we have a quiz on every Thursday evening from 10pm. We welcome customers for both food and drinks and we have a delicious cocktail menu which we are constantly updating.
Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food and service, but could be more family friendly.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Not been disappointed with food or service and have visited a few times. My only moan about the place is that I am a very private person when eating, and when we've visited as a family, we've always been ushered to an open table, rather than a more private booth, were told it was because we had a baby with us?! We have left because of this, as have a few of our friends. Need to be more accommodating with families - they need their privacy too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank RPSCND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    109
    28
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Most Enjoyable”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Visited this restaurant for lunch and was very pleasantly surprised at the extensive menu. I had a steak wrap which came with soup or fries, coleslaw and salad for under £6. It was delicious. The other meals around me looked very appetising too. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mab950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
“McCluskey nite oot”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

It was a delightful meal my favourite thing was the pizza and fries and i loved my mocktail in a giant glass. from David age 7

Helpful?
Thank mccluskey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenock
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went here a few weeks ago for Sunday lunch after hearing good reviews from friends, the lentil soup was overloaded with salt, could have made a better pot of soup with a stock cube, the roast beef was dried out and tough with very little taste resembling beef, roast potatoes were inedible, was looking forward to having a meal here, suffice to say I wont be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank delbhoy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruden H, General Manager at The Exchange, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Good Evening,

Firstly I would like to take this opportunity to apologize that you did not enjoy your meal whilst dining with us. We pride ourselves on providing fresh, homemade food at reasonable prices and this is why we always check our tables back to ensure all our customers are enjoying their food.

I am sure you can appreciate if you had said at this point we would have been more than happy to offer you something else from the menu and this would have given us the opportunity to rectify the situation but unfortunately when customers wait until leaving the restaurant and write a poor review it is very difficult for us the resolve the problem, I hope you can understand where we are coming from on this.

I would once again like to apologize and if you do decide to return to the exchange I hope you find your meal enjoyable.

Kind Regards
Kirsty Beckett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Nice atmosphere , service is ok , food is also fine. Bar scene is nice. Could be more good, easy to find

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Willium B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Exchange also viewed

Greenock, Inverclyde
 
Greenock, Inverclyde
 

Been to The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing