We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local spot that we really quite like :)”
Review of Tontine Hotel

Tontine Hotel
Ranked #12 of 64 Restaurants in Greenock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Local spot that we really quite like :)”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We go here quite often, but we like to sit in the lounge. We're vegetarian so they have options that suit us both (we have different favourites - Macaroni Cheese, and Veggie Burger). We probably go to the Tontine every couple of weeks. The lounge has a wider menu than the restaurant but is less formal. It suits us due to the menu. Can get busy though. The food is much better in the last year or so than it was a few years ago when it was just passable. Their macaroni truly has improved to my satisfaction! :P

We occasionally also just pop in for a glass of wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesley1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    31
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Still the Best!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Following my annual trip to Scotland, the friends who accompanied me this year are still raving about this beautiful hotel and the service from the staff. The food served in the lounge bar was excellent and even better value. The Haggis and the Steak Pie are the 2 best items on the menu but the Scampi was almost as good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wee4mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Meal”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Had a lovely quiet meal with friends in this lovely old hotel. Nothing fancy, just good honest food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mab950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Food and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Having not eaten at the Tontine for quite a while, we decided to pop in one night for something to eat and were pleasantly surprised. We enjoyed the food, and it was a nice relaxed atmosphere. Staff were very pleasant and the service was good. Will try it again soon :o)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skyemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Poor quality.”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Food dreadful, prawn cocktail with crunchy shell bits and brown lettuce. Looked like big frozen bag had been opened as teensy prawns in runny sauce. Had to keep trying to attract staffs notice, ended up getting up and going to bar myself. Didn't come across as fresh produce, wee frozen carrots. Won't ever go back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank catherine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tontine Hotel also viewed

Greenock, Inverclyde
Greenock, Inverclyde
 
Greenock, Inverclyde
 

Been to Tontine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing