We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run place great food”
Review of The Albany

The Albany
Ranked #5 of 64 Restaurants in Greenock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, Scottish, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: There’s a great vibe at The Albany as our refurbished Bar & Cafe/Brasserie is now open! The new relaxed atmosphere, extended bar and seating area gives you more space and a fresh look; perfect for chilling out whilst enjoying some refreshing drinks and delicious food. We’ve got your night out covered at The Albany!
Greenock
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely family run place great food”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Went here with my partner, for our engagement and a few dates the staff where very pleasant and the food was incredible

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    74
    21
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sartori in greenock!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Just been to the Albany for a family lunch. Ordered fish and chips and, boy, was it good! Huge flakes of creamy white fish, crispy batter, proper chips almost certainly made from quality chipping tatties, and unlike other places a huge wedge of lemon that could be easily squeezed! Interesting wee side salad nicely dressed and a side of tartare sauce. SUBLIME!
Daughters risotto of pesto and sun dried tomatoes was busting with flavour, nice and 'loose' with just a bite left in the rice.
Mothers club sandwich looked like it had been cut with a lazer, fresh filling, of moist chicken, bacon and lettuce. Lovely, someone in the Albany has a keen eye,attention to detail evident in everything that was served to us.

Helpful?
3 Thank lucky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fresh food & fantastic atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The Albany is a really tastefully designed venue and the staff were very tentative and friendly.

I had the smoked salmon starter which was really fresh and appetising. For my main I had the steak sandwich and the peppercorn sauce was excellent.

The Albany would be a great venue for couples, family and young children alike and I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford Lincs
Level Contributor
133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pleasant night out.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The Albany is well designed and a real surprise. Internally it is modern and quirky yet comfortable and calming. We'll done! The menu choice was good although maybe a little more vegetarian choice would be helpful. The service was excellent and the meals very enjoyable. This is a place one would be happy to frequent again and again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JandrewStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First Visit - will be back soon”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We thought we would try out the Albany as we have heard good comments about it and glad we did go! When arriving we actually couldn't find the entrance but we walked further along and found the entrance and the first impressions were "wow" this place is lovely! The restaurant was quiet with only 2 other tables and we were greeted by lovely members of staff and shown to our table which was a booth. The menu offers a variety of foods from pasta to steaks which we love! We settled for the chicken linguine and the peppered ciabatta. We both thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the atmosphere of the place was peaceful. The price of the meal was decent and we left a good tip for the staff as they were very friendly and were efficient. We are really happy we came here tonight as we really enjoyed the meal and we will definitely be back here soon. I would recommended this restaurant to people of all ages!

Helpful?
3 Thank gckc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Albany also viewed

Greenock, Inverclyde
Greenock, Inverclyde
 
Gourock, Inverclyde
 

Been to The Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing