We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awful Hotel”
Reviewed 28 March 2008

This hotel must have gone down hill since all the other reviews. The bed was awful to sleep on, you could feel the springs, the bed linin was cheap in quality for a hotel, poor bathroom with dirty and used bath, no telephone in rooms, no safe deposit, a tiny reception you could not swing a cat in it. The reception was often left unmaned and the building seemed cheap build quality, you could hear people walking down the corridor on the floor above if your on the ground floor. The wifi did not work as well. After 1 night I moved straight to the hoilday inn express near the T-Mobile and RBS buildings.

The good points are the view and the point restraunt next door, although the cooked breakfast is good this is an extra 7.50 unlike the hoilday inn were contiental breakfast is included.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Andrewstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    125
    31
    10
    9
See reviews for
143
147
38
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chino, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2007

As stated in the other reviews, this Premier Travel Inn has great views of the Firth of Clyde from half the rooms. The room was clean and fairly typical of the PTI franchise. But it is the location and views from the room that set this hotel above most.

The Point, the adjacent restaurant, attracts local diners, which indicates its quality. And the dining room has picture windows with a gorgeous view of the Firth.

As shown in the attached photo, there is a walkway between the hotel and the water which continues on for about half a mile. Unfortunately the view of the dining room in the adjacent restaurant was just out of the picture (just to the left are the picture windows of the restaurant dining area).

We also stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, about a mile down the road. It is also on the water but the view is obscured by tall scrubs. I assume the view is not very good, so they blocked it?

  • Liked — View from room
  • Disliked — It was booked on 3rd night, so we had to move to the HI Express down the road
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Classof64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2006

Well, this was a lovely surprise. We needed, for family reasons to go to Glasgow on a particular weekend, and of course, unknown to us it was the weekend of the Scottish Open, and all central hotels and around Loch Lomond were booked up! So, I looked down the coast the other way, and found this on the Premier Travel Inn website. I was glad I did.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, both here and at the pub next door. The rooms are standard for the chain, that is everything you might need. The pub does breakfast etc, and the views are lovely from there, and there is a pool table for your teenagers. You can buy food there, or breakfast at Macdonalds opposite, depending on your fancy, or calorie count!!

The thing that makes it is where it is on the old dock. Many of the rooms have great views, and you can see how they are developing the docks too. We watched the Waverley go by,which was lovely.

Of course it helped that the weather was wonderful, and we took the ferry across the Clyde from Greenock across to Dunoon, bought ice creams, and then went on spec, and booked a trip on
[--], which was amazing. John told us all sorts about the Clyde and wildlife and we had two hours on a still river up the Kyles of Bute, and saw seals. We would recommend heartily.

So if you need to stay this side of Glasgow, and don't want to break the bank, I would go for this option,.

  • Liked — Views!
  • Disliked — fan in room
  • Tips/Secrets — Go on the river rocket
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoldlyGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2006

Simple, clean, en-suite rooms. Half of the rooms are facing the water, and since the hotel is on the waterfront, the view is fantastic. kids loved watching for boats going by...
In the adjacent Brewers Fayre Restaurant, seats by the window offer this view aswell.
5/10 min walk into the town centre or 2 seconds to the McDonalds!
The hotel also had irons and boards,and hairdryers available for a deposit and also sold the stuff we forgot (toothpaste, toothbrush, razors etc), which was handy.
Staff were good for giving directions, timetables or trains and ferries etc.
All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PollyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 September 2005

We had a lovely one night stay here. Great views from the hotel. A good, clean, pleasant room. Helpful desk staff.

A very good place to stay on a budget.

It is bookable online through the Travel Inn website - we got a deal for about 47 pounds/night - you also get a discount in the brewer's Fayre next door.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenock
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
0.7 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
100 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel
Tontine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Greenock
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
6.1 mi away
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
6.8 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Greenock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Greenock Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
Address: 1-3 James Watt Way, Greenock PA15 2AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Greenock
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Greenock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy views across the Firth of Clyde from this dockside spot, five minutes from Greenock Central ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Greenock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel Greenock
Greenock Premier Inn
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing