We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic addition to Port Glasgow ”
Review of Waterwheel

Waterwheel
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Port Glasgow
Cuisines: British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Family friendly restaurant serving a wide variety of main meals alongside our signature Carvery roasts. We have a large beer garden equiped with child's play area and an indoor toddlers activity area.
Port Glasgow
1 review
“Fantastic addition to Port Glasgow ”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

What a gem of a place. Amazing carvery and great menu and staff are all happy to help a rare thing these days outstanding place. I will be returning soon.

Helpful?
Thank DaveG1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3778WC, General Manager at Waterwheel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank You for your lovely feedback, I will be sure to pass this onto the team and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    77
    61
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“new place to eat”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Food great, staff very helpful, good price for great food it also as a wee play area outside for the kids

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3778WC, General Manager at Waterwheel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank You for your lovely feedback, I will be sure to pass this onto the team and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Me and some friends went down to the waterwheel for Sunday dinner. The restaurant was very welcoming, friendly, helpful staff. Great atmosphere, lovely decor, looked clean and very modern. The carvery was amazing. The meat was so tender and juicy. Loved the big Yorkshire puddings and vegetables were fresh and tasty. Definitely recommend the red velvet cake! Was soooo yummy.

Definitely worth a visit. Food was great, staff were fab and restaurant is lovely.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3778WC, General Manager at Waterwheel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank You for your lovely feedback, I will be sure to pass this onto the team and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenock
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Below average pub food”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is one of these chain of restaurants that try and combine a family friendly atmosphere with a pub, the waiting and bar staff are efficient and friendly but sadly the food is dreadful, two of us had chicken dishes which were bland, over cooked and cold, the baked potato was nuked to such an extent that it was devoid of flavour and texture, the fish was deep fried from frozen probably frozen on the day it was caught in 2005, really disappointed as the Port was crying out for a decent restaurant and sadly it's still in tears

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank delbhoy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3778WC, General Manager at Waterwheel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we do try to please everyone and are always keen to improve. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit. If you would like to discuss these issues further please contact us on 01475 742167
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sorely disappointed! !!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have just came from this so called brilliant carvery. . The meat was dry as a bone, Yorkshire pudding was soggy and veg was tasteless. . Had to ask 3 times for a spoon to feed the baby. .in tge end I had to go get one myself. . .will never go back there again the toby jug in breahead is fantastic! !! Well worth the journey. So be warned people don't waste your money in this place .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelfacebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3778WC, General Manager at Waterwheel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we do try to please everyone and are always keen to improve. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit. If you would like to discuss these issues further please contact us on 01475 742167
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterwheel also viewed

Langbank, Renfrewshire
Greenock, Inverclyde
 
Greenock, Inverclyde
Renfrew, Renfrewshire
 

Been to Waterwheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing