We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Machrie Moor Stone Circles

Machrie Moor Stone Circles
Book In Advance
More Info
US$339.89*
and up
3-Day Isle of Arran Tour from Edinburgh Including Robert Burns Country
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Coldstream, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magical Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

You cannot walk among the standing stones and stone circles of Machrie Moor without marvelling at the ingenuity of our Stone Age and Bronze Age ancestors. It has a sense of peace apart from the calling of circling buzzards.
The information boards are well situated and easy to understand and add rather than detract from one's enjoyment of the experience. Well worth following the 3 mile circular walk.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    83
    11
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denby Dale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well worth the effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

It took us a while to work out how to reach the site of the stones; a member of our group is disabled so parking was an important issue. However, we managed to find somewhere to park and then followed the three mile circular walk easily. What a truly magical place. There are several groups of standing stones as well as a burial cairn and some stone circles. It is amazing that a site of such importance is so tucked away and with so few people around. Between the sea and the mountains it is an amazing place and very moving.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, MD.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A journey into pre-history...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

A walk out the farm lane onto Machrie Moor, on the Isle of Arran, is like a journey into pre-history. Yes, there's the convenience of a new car park. There's the walk out the farm lane, through the fields full of sheep. Most days you run into other people enjoying the same experience you are. But if you feel your every step, feel the land beneath your feet, breathe in the freshness of the air, and even stop briefly to gaze upward and around at the colors and shapes of the surrounding landscape, you'll start to sense a little of what "The Ancients" may have experienced as they made their way out to some of the greatest megaliths in all of Scotland. My wife and I were here last summer and we're returning briefly as part of an island-hopping tour of the Western Isles this summer. You might call us megalithomaniacs because that's just what we are... We are crazy about standing stones and stone circles. Our rental car should have a bumper sticker which says: "This Vehicle Stops at Every Standing Stone"

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hwmccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice stroll through stunning scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The walk isn't very challenging but is worth doing for experiencing this "special place" as it is described on the information boards, it is maintains a sense of reality and isn't commercialised.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Homeisbehind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We visited the stone circles during Easter weekend and the weather was stunning.
We parked our car and headed off to find the stone circles with our 2 sons and our dog.
Access to the stone circles is through a working sheep farm and you are asked to keep your dog on a lead...there are lots of sheep and lambs.
The walk is relatively easy and very pleasant and is sectioned off by gates/fencing. If you have smaller children they could easily be pushed in a buggy.
Initially you will come to a gate and as you pass through there is a fenced off area to the right with a smallish stone circle and some info explaining that it's part of a burial site.
As you follow the path there is a stone to your left then a few more to your right.
DON'T stop here - there is more to see further down the path.
Follow the path to the end and you will come to the circle of smaller stones known as Fingal's Cauldron. To the left there is ruins of an old farm.
The larger stones are just beyond this and are definitely something to see.
It's quite an atmospheric & tranquil place.
Despite there being rain previously the path to the stones wasn't very muddy at all. However we cut across from the single large stone to the larger stone circle and it was very boggy (up to the top of my wellies at one point!) So stick to the path unless there has been a long period of dry weather.
It took us approximately 30-40 minutes to reach the larger stones.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank leslee1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Machrie Moor Stone Circles also viewed

 
Whiting Bay, Isle of Arran
 

Been to Machrie Moor Stone Circles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing