We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION”
Review of Sunninghill Hotel

Sunninghill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 85 Restaurants in Elgin
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 19 July 2021 via mobile

Birthday celebration and with family who recommended the hotel. And we weren’t disappointed,
The service was professional and welcoming.
The menu was ample with plenty of options The Cajun chicken, steak pie, and venison burger were all delicious.
As was all the food served.
Well worth a visit. This was our first time and will certainly be back on our next visit to Elgin.
Great evening. 👍

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank kilsythladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Archowner, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2021

We are delighted you were happy with your food and service.
Thank you very much for taking time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2021

Had dinner here, good choice of food menu and wine. Delicious food, couldn't fault it. Polite and efficient staff. It was very convenient to our hotel only a few minutes walk.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Archowner, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2021

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you were happy with our service and food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2020 via mobile

Unfortunately very, very poor. Raw chips from frozen, defrosted burger buns, Cullen Skink that did not have smoked haddock and very erratic sizes of portions.

The service was good and a discount was given due to the quality of the meal but unfortunately the quality dose not reflect on the price.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank S6985NRmichaelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Archowner, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2020

I was disappointed to read your review of your visit to our hotel.

Our chips are made with fresh potatoes from local supplier Speyfruit but on this occasion were obviously not cooked long enough and our burger buns are fresh sesame topped rolls although we do keep some brioche vegan buns in stock for our vegan guests. Our chefs make our Cullen skink using smoked haddock from our local supplier Mark's fish.

However, I can only apologise for your discontent with your outing to our hotel. Our staff try hard to please but did not meet your standards on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2020 via mobile

Just had the most superb meal today
The deep fried prawns were big and juicy and in a delicious light batter
Main course was 2 pork loins with haggis and with all the trimmings and was a lovely alternative to turkey
And sticky toffee pudding was light and sticky with plenty toffee sauce
Everything cooked to perfection and large portions.
Staff were excellent friendly and attentive
Will definitely visit again

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank 545trishc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Archowner, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2020

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted you were pleased with your meal and service. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year from us all at Sunninghill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2020 via mobile

There was four of us for Christmas lunch and everything was just lovely including the staff. The service was excellent, our orders taken efficiently and the food arrived with a short delay whilst we chatted. All our food was cooked perfectly, including, salmon, pork and turkey. The home made pavlova was just delicious, in fact out of this world and the nicest we’ve had in a restaurant. We didn’t feel rushed, which was a good thing because we wanted to have a good catch-up before Christmas.

We would certainly recommend this hotel as a good place to eat, with friendly and helpful staff.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Archowner, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2020

Thank you very much for taking time to post such a positive review. it is really good in these difficult times to hear that you have enjoyed your meal with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunninghill Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Sunninghill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.