We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£140
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
heathergMoray
Elgin, United Kingdom

Excellent

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Dec 2019
Once again we have had a fantastic family gathering at the Sunninghill Hotel. We were there for lunch and there was a lovely selection on the menu, including gluten free alternatives requested by two of our party. Can't praise this hotel enough.
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Archowner, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 29 Dec 2019
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are delighted your party enjoyed their lunch. Happy new year to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£145
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £145
0.4 miles from Sunninghill Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
PremierInn.com
£49
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
1.1 miles from Sunninghill Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£119
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Sunninghill Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Sunninghill Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.2 miles from Sunninghill Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Street View of Hotel
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.1 miles from Sunninghill Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.4 miles from Sunninghill Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
3.6 miles from Sunninghill Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £109
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from Sunninghill Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Elgin
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
81
41
12
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
81
41
12
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venison burger fantastic hotel whiskey trail lovely meal nothing too much trouble within walking distance nice breakfast stayed for nights warm welcome alistair malts annex wee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2019 via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful hotel. Staff are excellent and very helpful. Food was amazing, room was lovely. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Within walking distance from train station and town centre.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Archowner, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome again if you are in the Elgin area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2019

With a very elderly gentleman in our party, we found this hotel excellent for disabled access to the dining room. We were given a table in the conservatory, with plenty of space and - very importantly - no noise.
The service was impeccable and staff are to be congratulated on their attention and friendliness.
The menu was extensive and varied, our group of six chose different dishes, none of which disappointed. There was no problem about varying the sauces either.
Thank you for providing a lovely day out for old friends!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Archowner, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2019

We are delighted you were pleased with your lunch with us. Thank you for taking time to write this positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and had an outstanding time. Perfect location to visit many scotch distilleries and the cooperage. Every night we were in the restaurant and bar. Food was excellent and the scotch selection outstanding. Bartenders were amazingly friendly and helpful and turned a good trip into an excellent one. brilliant!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank midwesttraveler9023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Archowner, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2019

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking time to post such a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019

Staff were wonderful and went above and beyond. Great location near train station, restaurants and shops. We stayed two nights and had one dinner and two breakfasts. Food, service and setting was lovely.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Archowner, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2019

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2019

With very limited hotel availability in the Highlands, we ended up staying at Sunninghill in Elgin. I'm not sure if all rooms are like this, but we ended up in a 2-bedroom apartment with a full living room and kitchen. The apartment set up was perfect for our family of four, but my issues are that 1) our room was basically accessed through the staff work area, which wasn't great, 2) the rooms appear not have been updated since the Queen was only a year or two into her reign, 3) while there was a full kitchen, it was absolutely and completely empty (i.e. - there wasn't even a fork or glass in it, literally nothing), and 4) it was very expensive. I will chalk the price up to the fact that it was high season, but even so, it wasn't worth it for the room we got, but the other concerns are totally valid. Just be aware of what you're getting into.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jandrewbarr65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Archowner, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2019

We are sorry you were not happy with our apartment.

We do not stock the kitchen as it not used by guests for safety reasons. We do have glasses available for every guest and tea/coffee making facilities. Normally our guests are very happy to have the extra space in the flat. The rooms are normally accessed through our garden but obviously the other direction is closer to the car park but does pass our bin area. Most guests use the garden route.

I can only apologise for your dissatisfaction but if you had told us at the time we could have maybe moved your family to other rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews