We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Expectations exceeded.”
Review of The Lodge Elgin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge Elgin
Ranked #7 of 22 Elgin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Welcoming and Expectations exceeded.”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We chose The Lodge because of the excellent comments on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed! Our bedroom, at the back of the house, was spacious, well appointed and spotlessly clean. King size bed was very comfortable and the bed clothes and towels are all excellent quality. Breakfast included a wide choice of fresh fruit and Cereals and the cooked breakfasts - with lots of options - were done to perfection.The lodge has a well-lit and substantial car park and being so close to the centre of Elgin, we chose to walk in to eat and shop.Lots of tourist info is available in the entrance hall and the Guests lounge is very comfortable and roomy. David and Marilyn are exceptional hosts and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    31
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
41
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Stayed here for he second time this year and to be perfectly honest, we hope to come back as soon as we can. David and Marilyn's home is just beautiful, the rooms are spacious warm and cosy in fact so much so we had to turn our heating off. Everything is spotlessly clean, lots of lovely fluffy towels and we both slept really well. Lots of hot water too.
The breakfast choice is amazing lots of fresh fruit etc and an absolutely delicious full cooked breakfast plus other options, they seem to cater for every possible taste and David is an outstanding chef, very attentive hosts but not to the point of be intrusive, we will not bother to look elsewhere when we return to the area as this house is just perfect in EVERY way, there is absolutely nothing to complain about at The Lodge can't wait to return, many thanks David and Marilyn we had a wonderful time even though the reason for the trip - the Elgin v Rangers game was postponed we had another memorable trip.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eloise53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Stayed here for one night while away on business. Got a lovely big room with really comfotable bed and the highest ceilings I've ever seen! Lots of space to park the car and just a short walk to the town centre. Got a great nights sleep. I had to leave early so didn't get to have breakfast, so they offered to make me up a sandwich, very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

stayed here for 2 nights,great sized room very comfy bed and nice and warm,great location just a couple of minutes from the centre. as everyone else says amazing breakfast and very friendly hosts too. i would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

Lovely hosts and excellent value. Slept like a baby. Room is small and the walls very thin but didn't matter after a good night's sleep. Easy parking and the affable hosts allowed me an early check-in. Small issues like lamp not working and lack of hot water from basin in the morning more than made up for by the sumptuous and delicious breakfast. Free wifi mainly reliable. Peaceful location. Gorgeous old house with (mostly) all mod cons!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squinthorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed here overnight, recently, when I was doing a workshop for Elgin Writers. It can be a little sad, being away from home in winter, but this B & B, booked by my hosts at the club, was warm and comfortable. The single room was small, but warm and contained everything I needed - an en suite shower, a comfy bed, a television, a kettle with lots of teabags, even a hairdryer. Walls were a bit thin, but my fellow guests were very quiet and I slept like the proverbial log, The breakfast was generous and excellent - good smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, well cooked, very good coffee with refill offered before I had got round to asking for it. Even the music in the dining room was pleasant. Friendly people, and close enough to the station (although in a very nice, leafy street) to make walking easy. I'd stay here again, and I'm happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2012

my wife and i spent two nights here and it was fantastic we had a great welcome and the room was very comfortable. The food was amazing best breakfast we have experienced at a b&b, we will be staying again, ten of ten !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norman b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
1.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
131 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stotfield Hotel
Stotfield Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lossiemouth
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southbank Guest House
Southbank Guest House
#10 of 22 in Elgin
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Elgin

Property: The Lodge Elgin
Address: 20 Duff Avenue, Elgin IV30 1QS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge Elgin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge Elgin Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing