We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hosts”
Review of The Lodge Elgin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge Elgin
Ranked #6 of 22 Elgin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
189 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“First Class Hosts”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

David's lifetime experiences in the hospitality industry shine through immediately. We arrived at the Guest house after dealing with a flat tire literally in the middle of nowhere. We no sooner told our story when Marilyn and David handed us a dram of fine scotch. A very kind gesture in deed. Te room was very comfortable, as was the rest of their home. The breakfast was superb as we knew it would be. We felt we had made friends with our hosts. Great location, excellent hosts, wonderful visit!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VancouverIslanders41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    29
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
40
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

After a train ride from Edinburgh, we found this B&B an easy walk from the station. The place is clean and welcoming - there was a bowl of fresh plums to greet us. Our bed was so comfortable! The room was big and the bathroom clean and suitable. The breakfast was gourmet! Plenty of fresh fruit, jucies, coffee and tea and the home-made omelets can't be beat. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. The two nights we spent at B&B was certainly a highlight of our 16-day trip to England and Scotland! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anglotripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The Lodge Elgin was our base for two nights as we explored the Speyside region. We were made to feel very welcome and the service was excellent, from our first introduction to tips about where to eat at night. The room was very clean and well appointed. The ensuite bathroom was also very clean and had all we needed.The Lodge has a nice guest lounge which was a great spot to finish off the day and to plan ahead. It is conveniently located and only a short walk to the High Street and nearby restaurants. The breakfast was the best I had in Scotland with a good range to choose from, plenty of fresh fruit and a range of cooked options.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markos2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed recently in the single room. It is far too small to justify a price of £45 per night. There are no facilities to hang either clean or used towels. Breakfast was of a good quality and the hosts were friendly.

Room Tip: Don't go for the single room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at this guest house, and must share with you, what a really good experience we had. Handy location, our room and the rest of the property was very welcoming. Our hosts David and Margaret go out of their way to be helpful. As for the breakfast, it was so fresh, I am sure the bacon was still grunting, and the eggs still clucking. All in all a really enjoyable break, would love to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocksandageordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I was working in Elgin for two days and stayed at The Lodge.
A great place to stay if you like your food.
The breakfast was fantastic not only a great choice of dishes but cooked to a very high standard,
with detail being made with the presentation as well.
Being a chef myself it was a delight to have such a great breakfast every morning.It was as good as i have had in many five star hotels and all at a very reasonable cost.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beastment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 days in May and would definitely return if we go back to Elgin. The Lodge was delightful, with a relaxing ambience. We had a very comfortable, good-sized room with en suite. Our bed was really comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious, with a good range of fruit (which I love), tasty muesli as well as a delicious scottish cooked breakfast (so my husband assures me!) as well as many other choices. The hosts managed that difficult balance of being relaxed and attentive without having endless rules. I would recommend The Lodge for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norfolktraveller_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elgin hotels
0.1 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
280 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
0.8 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
#5 of 7 in Elgin
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#3 of 22 in Elgin
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Elgin

Property: The Lodge Elgin
Address: 20 Duff Avenue, Elgin IV30 1QS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge Elgin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge Elgin Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing