We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fab lunch at Elgin’s finest”

Laichmoray Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 85 Restaurants in Elgin
Price range: £1 - £45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Centrally situated in the heart of Speyside, Elgin. The Laichmoray Hotel is a small Family Run, Friendly, thirty four Bedroom Hotel with Restaurant, Malt Whisky Lounge and Cocktail Bar. We boast 150 Malt Whiskies and 40 Scottish Gins. Our chef's pride themselves in using the finest local produce in our Traditional Menus. Breakfast, Morning Coffee, Lunch, High Tea and Dinner available daily in warm relaxed surroundings. Situated close to the Elgin Railway station, the Laichmoray is the ideal location for a base to tour the North East of Scotland. With Many Whisky Distilleries (The Macallan, Glenfiddoch, Glen Moray to name a few) , Golf Courses, Castles and the beautiful Coastline close by. Inverness - Dalcross airport 35 miles and Aberdeen Airport 65 miles. Our Maisondieu Suite is the perfect venue for Wedding and Family Celebrations, with it's unique split level and balcony. Conference Facilities are catered for in The Spey room and Private Office. Private Parking - Wi-fi
Reviewed 14 August 2021

Always find it difficult to stray from our usual Cajun and teriyaki chicken; utterly delicious and all the more so for the attentive, welcoming, friendly and professional staff. Glad to see the ‘Laich’ taking the time to ensure all its guests are safe by following SG COVID guidance in full, something we should all be grateful for. Time now for a wee break before we follow on with a sampling at IV30!

Well done once again to the Laichmoray Management team and staff.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Derek865
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2021

Visited for a birthday meal. We often visited before the pandemic and this was the first time since. Firstly we were given 4 dinner rolls for a table of eight we asked for some more and was told we were only allowed another 2 as 2 people were having pate for a starter! The roast beef dinner was probably the worst I’ve ever had the beef was thin like packet sandwich beef dried around the edges and no flavour.
It was accompanied with carrots 2 new potatoes 2 roast well I think they were supposed to be but they were white no colour on them. A couple of roasted sweet potato chips a shop bought Yorkie and strange coloured gravy that had no taste and was obviously from a packet.
Disgusting!
The food was not good quality for the price

My son ordered sticky toffee pudding but couldn’t eat it. The sauce was a strange pale colour and full of lumps with a strange flavour. The sponge was dry.

It a shame we used to like it here but won’t be rushing back any time soon.

Date of visit: August 2021
2  Thank kellyjY5491QG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2021

We last went to Laichmoray before covid and the service was always good, food and prices were reasonable to so we decided to go for a family members birthday, what a change.

On arriving everyone (including my 68yo mother) had to sign in using the app link even though we were all from the same household . As you can imagine this was not a welcomed start and caused quite alot of distress for my mother.

It felt like the staff were scared of customers trying to keep as much distance as possible and over stretching to place drinks/food/cutlery. We had starters and our cutlery was taken away. No replacement cutlery for the mains was brought until i asked.

We ordered starters and mains. The food itself was more like pub grub than fine dining. Starters had salads with no dressing which made it feel lacking. Prawn cocktails had sauce that was bland and plain. Smoked salmon mouse with no bread or oatcakes just a small dry salad. We had to send back atleast 3 plates because they were undercooked, tasted terrible, or the cook handn't bothered to taste what was made, orlike the cook had missed out ingredients or cooked incorrectly. At this point i expected at the very least a meal to be gratis or offer of a free dessert or drink, but no.

We also had cocktails which were tasty but ridiculously over priced. I asked for a classic martini and was shocked that they charged me £9. When questioned they said they didn't have it on the menu as standard so they charge the most expensive one to cover it.

Overall the quality of the food was poor and the prices have risen to that of a fine eating bistro without the level of service or quality of food to match. The staff were so afraid of the customers that you don't feel welcome at all. There are many places that offer far supperior food, and service for the same amount of money or less. Do yourself a favour and go elsewhere.

Date of visit: June 2021
2  Thank Sunkinthesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2020 via mobile

One of our favourite places to dine in Elgin is the Laichmoray hotel and especially the Garden Room Restaurant.

Nothing has changed since our last visit. An extensive menu with prices on par with other Elgin Eateries.

Service was quick and friendly and all covid regulations were strictly adhered to.

Most importantly our meals were delicious. We had beef and chicken teriyaki and we would recommend that choice.

Date of visit: September 2020
2  Thank Orkho
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2020 via mobile

Visited on Sunday opted for the roast beef which was fabulous, big portion, great selection of veg. Menu was great with lots of choice. Restaurant was spacious and comfortable and all staff were very friendly. Cocktails were also pretty amazing too. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2020
2  Thank wendyw0074
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Laichmoray Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Laichmoray Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.