We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub food”
Review of The Crooked Inn - CLOSED

The Crooked Inn
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Thought the food was lovely, good value for money and lovely ales. Top job. Conservatory room was a lovely room . Great staff that cater for your every need.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous3642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    6
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Moray
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great disappointment!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

After reading the reviews on here, decided we would give it a go.
Had brie as a starter, it was lovely. Good start
Main courses were awful. Daughter had a burger, it was still pink in places, so it didn't go down well. The chips looked as though they had come from a chip shop and to add insult to injury were reheated and hard. The rolls that the burgers came in looked as though they were straight from Tesco. I'm sorry, but there is no excuse for this. There are so many good bakeries in the area where you can source lovely rolls.
Dessert was bannoffie mess. It wasn't freshly made, the one bit of banana was soft and still to find some meringue!
A real shame, because the menu looked great, typical pub food, just what we were looking for.
Won't be returning

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good, plain food and ale”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband and I ate in the "conservatory" room at The Crooked Inn twice on our recent trip to Scotland, and were very pleased both times. The hamburgers are particularly good, and the staff is friendly. The parking is a bit tight, but the pub itself is sweet and quirky. Note the crooked cat on the roof - The pub's name comes from the old rhyme, "There was a crooked man who walked a crooked mile," etc.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler031947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pub”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Excellent food and service with 2 real ales on tap. The burger I had was probably the best I have ever eaten !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Such a pity”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Called into this inn on Saturday after being advised by a friend that, her recollection was, that it was amazing. Visiting a friend in the area and was looking forward to a pleasant meal with a friend.
The place is very cute and quirky and I loved the ambience.

Lovely menu but unfortunately the staff uninspiring. The grumpy man behind the bar had no customer service skills at all and argued with us over a drink we had ordered.

The waitress was slow and thankfully when the meal arrived it was delicious - my compliments to the chef. Unfortunately my friend had raw ( not aldente) carrots which she mentioned to the waitress who simply looked blank and left us. We asked for a menu for pudding and the waitress never came back. We weren't asked if we wanted another drink or whether we would like coffee. We could easily have eaten and drank more but didn't get the option.

Such a pity.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank opheliaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing