We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly pub, good grub :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crooked Inn - CLOSED

The Crooked Inn
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Alford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly pub, good grub :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stopped in here for some dinner and it was a very pleasant experience. The staff were very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful if they tried. The menu was varied, the food was delicious and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LornyLoo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    6
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Thought the food was lovely, good value for money and lovely ales. Top job. Conservatory room was a lovely room . Great staff that cater for your every need.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous3642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Moray
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great disappointment!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

After reading the reviews on here, decided we would give it a go.
Had brie as a starter, it was lovely. Good start
Main courses were awful. Daughter had a burger, it was still pink in places, so it didn't go down well. The chips looked as though they had come from a chip shop and to add insult to injury were reheated and hard. The rolls that the burgers came in looked as though they were straight from Tesco. I'm sorry, but there is no excuse for this. There are so many good bakeries in the area where you can source lovely rolls.
Dessert was bannoffie mess. It wasn't freshly made, the one bit of banana was soft and still to find some meringue!
A real shame, because the menu looked great, typical pub food, just what we were looking for.
Won't be returning

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good, plain food and ale”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband and I ate in the "conservatory" room at The Crooked Inn twice on our recent trip to Scotland, and were very pleased both times. The hamburgers are particularly good, and the staff is friendly. The parking is a bit tight, but the pub itself is sweet and quirky. Note the crooked cat on the roof - The pub's name comes from the old rhyme, "There was a crooked man who walked a crooked mile," etc.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler031947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Excellent food and service with 2 real ales on tap. The burger I had was probably the best I have ever eaten !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crooked Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing