We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint place, love it”
Review of The Crooked Inn - CLOSED

The Crooked Inn
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint place, love it”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Been here a few times lately , and have to say its a hidden gem ;) have not got a bad word to say , food's great, atmosohere's great and the staff are great . Shame about their jumpy cd's but really enjoyed the happy homley feel

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nomnom1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    6
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
moray
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really disappointed”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Hadn't visited for a while and came with some friends a few days ago. Arrived just after eight on a Friday and were told it would be a while before we could order as they were busy, which we said was fine. When they did come we ordered drinks and asked if we could order snacks, but were told no. My friend then went to ask if we could order full meals (thinking that might be the issue) but was told no. We had just started our drinks or else would have left. Another friend then asked if we could buy any crisps or nuts and was told no. We watched other people being brought their food for a while then the chef came and sat opposite us and had their drink. When we went to pay for the two glasses of wine and two cokes it was £15. Disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elginel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hit or miss !”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Been here a few times but the last two couldn't been more in contrast. We went for Sunday lunch which was so good, we went back the following week. Turned out to be a big mistake, food was poor, place was deserted, no atmosphere, we were charged more and never even received all our meal. Think there is a big problem with the management of the place !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSL271258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south west
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value pub food”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We visited for dinner on a quiet evening. Food and service good. Quaint pub and certainly worth a visit if you are in the area. We stayed in a nearby B&B and the hostess recommended this pub for a good value meal. It did not disappoint.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank thegenealogists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What has happened”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Came in may and the food and service was amazing so we went back again when we came to see family. Myself and my husband wanted to try it on a different night so went on a Saturday. Straight away we noticed that the atmosphere didn't seem the same as last time. We had a seat in the bar area which was nice for a Saturday night. But the middle aged woman was not as nice as the young lady on the previous visit. She looked very unprofessional as well. Where the other lady made sure her staff looked smart and professional while also looking the same this woman looked like she was trying to turn the place in to a bistro type place with pink ties etc which is wrong for a village pub. That I out the way service was very slow which surprised me as the place was very quiet. The menu had a few things missing which when U consider they can di specials and have lots if those is shocking. The so called managess then told us that the steaks where off the menu because they are not selling. Which is a real shame as the last time we came they looked very tasty. After the last time when the then managess / head chef came and made sure we where ok and left us to enjoy are meal to be best every few minutes if everything was ok was very annoying while trying to enjoy dinner. Then we came to dessert how can anyone that says everything us made on site think that we the public can not tell a bought in dessert massive massive disappointment. Last time we had the mist amazing home made crumble and spotted dick this time we had the most horrendous bought in cheap rubbish you can get . We will not be back at all unless there is a massive turn around all I can say is avoid the place as there ate far better places to eat

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsdglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crooked Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing