We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistency”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
elgin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“consistency”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

great hotel ,great food ,great atmosphere and staff and that includes maggie and ross..leisure centre exceptional ,also enjoyed the games room ..house keeping staff were particularly friendly ,nothing was to much trouble for this hotel and i would highly reccomend elgin to most people xx

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we too thoroughly enjoyed having you all for your Christmas break, we are really looking forward to seeing you all again next year.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    241
    156
    92
    67
See reviews for
112
280
50
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Just back home from Elgin and our stay at the eight acres.
We booked as it was just round the corner from relatives and dog friendly, so did not really have any expectations as we booked a deal, how wrong we were, from the first reception we were delighted with the service, genuine friendliness of staff and cannot praise enough the quality of the food.
Loved all of the entertainment and of course the temporarily moustached quizmaster, well done.
We received a Christmas card and offers from the freer hotel group and were delighted to see we where not staying at a corporate hostel, but a charitable trust.
Well done to everyone who helped us have a fabulous Christmas and stay away from home (it felt like home from home)

We will be taking up the offers so kindly given at Christmas

Merry Christmas and have a great new year and 2013


  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverspirit2191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your Christmas Break. All the staff thoroughly enjoyed the four days and we are pleased you felt at home with us. We look forward to seeing you next year!
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and again had a lovely stay. We don't understand the other reviews posted here. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. Our room was an excellent standard and we had a great cooked breakfast. We look forward to staying here again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, its great to see we have guests who join us time and again, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Having attended a Christmas Party Night here on Saturday I feel that I must share my experience which very much agrees to one below.
The meal itself can be described in one word.......awful. The starter was what I would of called a pudding. The melon was very hard, the fruit was still frozen and the sorbie was the weirdest flavour I have ever tasted.
The main course vegetables were hard and the plate was swimming in very tastless gravy. The pudding was the worst part, a large dry bun full of yet again frozen fruit!
I am really sorry to write such a harsh review but it was honestly the worst meal I've had in a very long time.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mann81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Many thanks for your review, we have already discussed your comments and feedback directly. Once again I apologise that we did not meet your expectations regarding food quality, however the fruit inside the melon was cold, due to the frozen sorbet sitting atop, again the choux bun was filled with ice cream, hence the frozen element. I have discussed your comments with our chefs and will use your feedback in the future.
Thank you once again.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Elgin hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I have been to a number of events at the Eight Acres Hotel and I have never been disappointed. More recently I went to bring a party to a party and I must say that the food was amazing and I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to others. I have seen some of the other reviews and must say that I completely disagree with the negative comments that have been made.
The serving staff are wonderful and really make an effort to interact with the guests and ensure that everyone is having a great time especially Maggie and Ross. The disco was a lot of fun as are all of the events I have attended at the hotel.
I have no complaints about the times I have been to the hotel. I regularly go for a meal at the Eight Acres and the food has always been lovely and reasonably priced. I really can not praise the hotel and the staff enough and I will continue to go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your party night and other events and meals at the hotel, its always great to hear from our regular customers. I will ensure Ross and Maggie in particular are aware of your review as they will be delighted to know they positively influence your visits. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon,
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lossiemouth, scotland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

My work book to go here on saturday for our christmas night out and i certainly will not be going back! Yes i do understand they are catering for alot of people, but when you get a cold turkey, vegetables which were rock hard and the gravy that was like warm water. The desert was awful and was like eating cardboard. And the wine was like paint stripper....

The meal was £30 a head so you would expect a half decent meal but we were all still hungry after it.

The disco at night time was good enough....

Maybe think twice about going here for your works night out.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotsquine85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Thank you for your review, we served nearly 120 meals on Saturday and our staff continually checked that guests were satisfied, we received no negative comments on our food or any other aspect of our party night. Please can you advise if you discussed with the staff on the evening? I look forward to hearing from you so we may resolve this.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager
gm.eightacres@crerarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Reception reasonable. Room large and well presented but electric heating inadequate for the size. Hotel generally chilly. Food ~ Dinner and Breakfast terrible. Unimaginative soup, Ravioli inedible creme brulee should have a "crusty" top but didn't. Inattentive waiting staff. Breakfast orange juice was coloured water, inedible gloopy porridge, rock hard poached eggs. Won't be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuckingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Many thanks for your review. I am shocked by your comments as we normally receive excellent comments on our food and waiting staff. Having investigated with the waiting and kitchen teams on during your stay, we received no negative comments at all and served over 40 meals at each service, can you advise if you made the staff aware of your issues at the time?
Thank you once again for your comments.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager
gm.eightacres@crerarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
20.5 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
24.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
660 reviews
1.5 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
0.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
417 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Morriston Road | Morayshire, Elgin IV30 6UL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eight Acres Hotel And Leisure Club
8 Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Crerar Eight Acres Hotel Leisure
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing