We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Fife
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

The food was excellent and of a very high standard. The childrens menu was varied and all home made. Our refurbished room was spacious and clean. However, Manager please take note, small things make all the difference, the tables in reception were not cleared for a considerable time and when we arrived we saw an empty plastic water bottle lying on the floor in the lounge area. When we left 3 days later it was still there!!!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank gajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 11 September 2008
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive and constructive feedback. I shall be taking the team to task regarding the offending litter in the lounge but I hope this did not detract from an otherwise enjoyable stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Eight Acres in the near future.

Michael Pickford, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    235
    153
    91
    66
See reviews for
110
275
49
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Measham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

The location of this hotel is great for taking days out in the area. Close to many distilleries, the beach , the airbase etc. They serve a very good breakfast with plenty of food. However I would say one of my biggest negative would have been the cleanliness of the rooms. Dirty coffee cups , open soap in the shower from the last people there. Small things but they do make a difference. As for security once you are checked in we were able to walk in ask for a key to a room number from people at the front desk who had never seen us before and noone made sure we were even the ones who belonged to that room if any. Not to mention our room was left unlocked after cleaning while we were out for the day. Lastly the staff would make a big difference if they were friendlier . Noone really went out of their way to even be at the desk area when you came in for your key and when they did show they werent friendly. As I said you cant beat the location and our main reason for the room was just a place to sleep at the end of the day. I dont like being so negative but if nothing is said the hotel has no idea of changes that need made to better their business. A bit more cleaning and a bit tighter security with pleasant staff members and I think this could be a really nice place to stay again.

  • Liked — Terrific location and very nice breakfasts.
  • Disliked — Not so friendly staff and in need of a bit of cleaning in the rooms.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rredrose126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 28 August 2008
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback which we read with some concern. I am sorry that you had a disappointing experience particularly regarding the warmth of welcome. We have identified this as an area for training and had a customer service training session for the reception team only yesterday to take this matter forward and will be closely monitoring progress.

Regarding the rooms, I have shared your experience with the housekeeping team and we note that some of the newer members of the team are going to need closer supervision and will also monitor for consistent standard delivery.

Thanks once again for bringing your experience to our attention and please feel free to contact me off line if you have any further queries.

Michael Pickford, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

We spent two nights at the Eight Acres on a D,B&B package, and will definetely be keeping an eye for other specials offers in the future. The room was very clean and spacious, as was the whole of the hotel interior. The food was great, with perfect size portions , and the swimming pool and leisure club was clean, quiet and the gym equipment up to date. A lovely place for a short break!

  • Liked — clean, spacious room and great food
  • Disliked — exterior is very dated
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weemidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 26 August 2008
Dear Guest

Thank you for you positive comments which we are all pleased to read. I am also pleased to say that the dated exterior will be getting a more modern, new make-over this autumn which will reflect the contemporary styling inside.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Eight Acres soon.

Michael Pickford, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

We spent one night here and found this hotel to be very nice and and staff were friendly It has been newly refurbished and although our room was a little small it was spotlessly clean. We got a taxi into Elgin and returned to the hotel at five thirty hoping to get a bar supper we were extremely disappointed to be told that due to a wedding on the premises we would not be able to get supper until seven thirty. Had to get yet another taxi into town centre as we were starving pity we had not been told on arrivel could have saved a few quid. Good breakfast though.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank sheilaAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 August 2008
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding your stay. I am so sorry that you were not able to order food. Whilst we did have an extremely busy weekend, we should never refuse a guest and this point has been driven home to the team. We can and must find ways to accommodate our guests wherever possible. I hope that this did not detract from an otherwise enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Michael Pickford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2008

Spent 2 nights at this hotel on a DB&B basis. Our room was refurbished in the “CRERAR” style although we noticed that not all rooms have been refurbished. The room was small but clean and the bathroom was relatively large and clean. Here is a list of points to cover the kinds of things that we think might interest people.

1) The buffet style breakfast was to a good standard with all the usual offerings. Dinner was excellent - well presented and tasted very good. Interestingly one customer felt that the choice was too limited. If you decide to go for a’ la carte food on the DB&B basis the value placed on the “dinner” is very low and consequently a’ la carte food is far too expensive. Also, it wasn’t possible to order “bar food” using the “dinner” component of the DB&B. There ought to flexibility here.

2) The staff were friendly and helpful with the leisure suite staff and housekeeping staff being particularly good.

3) The gym was large and had a good selection of CV equipment and resistance machines. Good sized swimming pool. Saunas in the changing rooms.

4) Games room with a snooker table and pool table.

5) The reception / lounge area is a relatively large and comfortable place to spend some time.

6) Although we didn’t try out the free wi-fi internet access it is worthy of a mention. If you don’t have your laptop with you then there is always the guest PC set up in reception.

7) Toiletries in sachets rather then bottles.

8) Large car park and good sized well kept grass areas around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceFold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 18 August 2008
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive and comprehensive feeback. I have shareed tis with the team and we will review the flexibility of dining options withing the scope of dinner inclusve rates with other hotels in the group to see if this can be taken forward as a company.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Michael Pickford, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
20.5 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
24.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
5.4 mi away
Stotfield Hotel
Stotfield Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lossiemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Morriston Road | Morayshire, Elgin IV30 6UL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
8 Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Eight Acres Hotel And Leisure Club
Crerar Eight Acres Hotel Leisure
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing