We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Nearby Hotels
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel(Elgin)(Great Value!)
US$99
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stotfield Hotel(Lossiemouth)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$306
US$296
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eastbank Hotel(Rothes)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
US$201
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craigellachie Hotel(Craigellachie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
856 results
Traveller rating
252
256
171
102
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
256
171
102
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitieschanging roomsset menueasy breaksspa breakcrerar hotelbar menupublic areaslounge arearestaurant stafffirst morningshort breakbit datedbreakfast and dinnerfirst classbed and breakfastexcellent value for money
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 856 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here for last 4 weeks and will probably stay longer as I like the rooms and bar
BUT the meals are terrible !! Sent the steak back asked for med rare and it was well done AND they came out and said it WAS MR !! Then the venison !!! And I have had lovely venison I left most of it and not a comment No service checks to see if you are happy After a few more cardboard meals I asked for an omelette Nope not on their list ! Plus nearly £7 tray charge for a £9 burger Off into Elgin !!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank FisherK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for your review, and apologies for any issues you have incurred with food choices during your stay. With 3 menus operating daily, there is ample choice available at all times. We have taken all your comments on board.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a two night offer break which included taster menu on both nights. Room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful at reception and had excellent local knowledge. No rooms which were ground floor which is not ideal if you have mobility issues which mean you can't use stairs. This was mentioned when we phoned to book. The food in the restaurant was outstanding. The breakfast were tasty with the fish being cooked to perfection - any requests to alterations to the menu was happily accommodated. The evening six course taster menu was worth the stay alone - outstanding and not to be missed - venison and duck were of particular note. The menu was well put together and each course compliment each other perfectly. We used the pool and the sauna which were clean and at yhe standard of any health club. A lovely stay - and fantastic value if you book the two night dbb deals.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foody196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Many thanks for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The room was very small, but had all the facilities I required, and was clean and comfortable. It was a long way from reception, up 2 flights of stairs and down several long corridors (Room 54). All this with heavy bags in tow and no lift! Not ideal if you have a disability of any kind. The free wifi internet initially didn't work in my room, but the receptionist reset the system and I had no further problems. In fact it was a good speed. Breakfast was very good. The location is not ideal for town (a bit too far to walk), but there is plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the 50-60 range unless you are agile
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toandfromtheairport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Many thanks for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have an ongoing maintenance programme so improvements are being made where possible. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Two main highlights. Excellent, friendly staff who will do everything possible to help. Very good quality catering at reasonable prices.
Six course taster menu really excellent and some offers will include this in the first night of stay. Fantastic quality and value ensures you will come back and spend money the second night! Steak night on Wednesday is also excellent value for great food.
Unfortunately, the building is very dated but refurb seems to be under way. Rooms are very small by modern standards with paper thin walls. Electric heating is also very drying and not easy to achieve comfortable temperature without room feeling airless. Unusually this hotel also has lots of purpose built single en suite rooms which really are small! This also means lots of single guests who are working will be staying here.
The leisure centre is good with well equipped gym and adequate swimming pool.
Location is quiet, on the eastern outskirts of Elgin but easy travelling to all of surrounding towns and country.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Ayrshire911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Many thanks for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We got a deal through 5pm.co.uk and went up for a weekend at the start of March.

Hotel- The hotel itself looks a bit dated from the outside (see picture) but the reception and lounge areas are all nice (see picture). The corridors are a bit bland mind you and could do with a lick of paint or some artwork to brighten them up a bit. The location was good for us as we'd never been up there before and were looking to explore the area a bit.

Rooms- We had a double room. It was smaller than the kind of thing you'd get in a chain but not too small. It was also nicely decorated and clean (see picture, taken as we were leaving). The kettle provided was rotten though and the bathroom was a bit tatty. The lock on the door was awkward to the point of being broken and there was some haphazard tiling next to the bath (see picture). Having said that the bath was a good size and the shower was very good.

Restaurant- We mistakenly booked a table in the restaurant when all we were looking for was bar food. We considered moving through to the bar area but decided we'd give the restaurant a go. It's fairly expensive and mostly seafood orientated. As neither of us like seafood we went for the chicken and asparagus. It was nice, though we just stayed in the bar the next night. That was also good.

Breakfast- We were on a B&B arrangement so popped down in the morning. There are various cereals and yogurts on offer but we went for a cooked breakfast with toast as well as tea and coffee.

Lesuire Club- I wasn't in the gym but the pool was quite good, as were the showers. Towels are provided by the helpful staff. The jacuzzi was a let down though. It was barely lukewarm when I went in. The air being blasted in to provide the bubbles is icy cold and cools the water down around it. When the bubbles went off for ten minutes I tried again and while there was an improvement it still wasn't very comfortable. I didn't use the facilities again.

Staff- For the most part they were friendly and helpful. Only one incident let them down. The day we were leaving, at breakfast, one of the waitresses was complaining loudly to another table about her co-workers not pulling their weight. Not only is this a basic customer service no-no, she had just given me a dirty fork, forgotten to give my girlfriend a spoon and given us the wrong kind of toast just a few minutes earlier. These things are easier to overlook when you don't have to listen to someone complaining about being the only one who does "the job right".

Would I stay here again? Yes I would, though only if it was at the lower price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed review of your stay. We take on board all of our customers comments and will seek to improve where possible, reviews such as yours allow us to do so. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews