We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great meal, great spa, let down by lack of staff and lack of professionalism.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We visited the eight acres as a group of four for their "girls night in" package as a mini hen do. Upon arrival nobody seemed to know what it was we had booked (supposed to be a spa package with champagne and 7 course taster menu meal, with one night's stay for around £100 each) and we were told that these packages were new so nobody had told the staff about them. We had to show staff at reception the package as we'd booked it on our phones.

The spa treatments were great (once it had been established what we were getting for the package we had booked) and we had access to the pool, jacuzzi and sauna. The girl who did our massages was lovely, professional and attentive and we were all given big clean fluffy robes and slippers to wear. After the spa we headed up to our room for a few drinks before dinner. The rooms were nicely decorated with clean bathrooms, however the windows in both our rooms had damp and a little mould from condensation and could have used updating.

When we went down to the dining room we had to remind staff that our package had included dinner, and when asked about drinks we had to again remind staff that our package had included champagne, one bottle per couple. This received a couple of raised eyebrows but they obliged and brought one bottle of chilled Prosecco to our table. Nothing says special weekend away than being made to feel like your trying to scam them out of something you've paid for.

The food was excellent and really could not be faulted. We had thought that with a taster menu portions would be quite small but we were all fit to burst by the end. Everything was cooked to perfection and arrived promptly and piping hot. The meal was let down however, by the lack of professionalism from staff. There appeared to only be one member of staff who knew what they were doing, and everything seemed to be falling on that one person to pick up the slack. There was also a table of loud arrogant guys sat opposite us who felt the need to constantly flex, eye us up and make crude comments, not what you want during a sophisticated girly meal.

After the meal we went to the reception to ask if we were able to get the second bottle of bubbly promised in our package, as it was one bottle per couple and there were four of us. There was nobody at the reception but there was a phone there with a note saying to call this number for a member of staff. We tried the number 4 times and each time it just rang out. We could hear the phone ringing throughout the building but nobody answered or came to the reception. We went to the bar and the girl working the bar was one of the waitresses who had served us in the main dining area earlier. She was very helpful and attentive, but we had to again show the package we'd booked on our phones before we were able to get the bottle of bubbly. She was very apologetic and seemed to be the only one there who knew what was going on. She went out of her way to get us an ice bucket and glasses as the bar had ran out. After seeing her run around after everyone in the main dining area she was now the only person working on a busy bar and we later saw her manning the reception desk. The girl deserves a medal.

Upon checking out the following morning, the receptionist handed us our bill and it was less than half of what we had expected to pay. At first we were keen to get a bargain and were happy with that, but out consciences got the best of us and we pointed out that it should have been double that as we had received spa treatments and a meal. The receptionist then had to get a manager to change the bill and to make up the difference. I had to correct her calculations twice, even though she had all the details in front of her and a calculator.

We paid the difference and once we had all left we all agreed that for the service we received we should have just paid the initial cheaper bill and left without saying anything. What could have been a great girly weekend was severely let down by a lack of competent staff. It was very clear that the only good member of staff was very overwhelmed by her work load and a lack of support, as at times it seemed to just be her around. I wish I'd taken note of her name as she deserves a pay rise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LogiMarshal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us. We are disappointed by your comments on our staff, this is rarely an issue at the hotel, and our apologies once again for any confusion with regards to your package inclusions.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed a couple of times for one night on business. Always receive a friendly warm welcome from the staff on duty who are always happy and willing to help. Had dinner and breakfast in the Darroch Restaurent, both of which were lovely. It's always a nice touch to have the cooked items served to you, rather than helpful yourself from a buffet. Dinner is particulary good.

The Rooms are fine, but nothing special. They are all different shapes and sizes. The bathrooms are very tired and old fashioned looking. Some rooms only have a shower and no bath, but you only find out when you get to your room if you have been lucky or not. Free Wi-fi in all the rooms and public areas which I've always found fairly fast. A welcome plus in my book!

A (somewhat) tired looking bar area which could do with brightening up, but a good selection of drinks, particularly whiskey and draft beers.

Average rooms but overall made better by the staff. Room rates are quite varible - it's sometimes excellent value, sometimes far less so. Good location just a couple of minutes drive from the centre of town.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank DMM_INV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us, we are pleased you enjoyed your time at the hotel. We have passed your comments on to our head office as any plans for refurbishment are dealt with by them, we thank you for your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were looking forward to two nights of relaxation and good food and drinks. The first night in the restaurant was disappointing, poor service and indifferent food so we ate out the following night. I have to say that breakfast was excellent and the location of the hotel is very convenient. I do however agree that some of he staff could to with additional customer training.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Many thanks for your review, we listen to all the comments made by our guests and use them to improve our service and products where possible. I will discuss yours with our team.
Thank you once again.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We ate at Eight Acres 3 times while family were staying at the hotel. We had evening meals in the lounge and restaurant and afternoon tea. The food was good. In the lounge meals were good value but the selection was mostly sandwiches and paninis. Service was ok. In the restaurant, the food was good and the service of a much higher standard but the prices were much higher. Afternoon tea was very tasty and good value but the service could have been better. We had to ask for milk and plates. I would eat there again but won't be rushing back

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing your meals here with us. We will of course take your comments on board and use these as ways to improve. We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at the Eight Acres over the Easter weekend and enjoyed a superb cooked breakfast and excellent service from the staff. Our room was clean and comfortable with modern features. Parts of the hotel could do with a little TLC or updating here and there but over all the place was warm and welcoming. We ate in the lounge for a simple salad on our first night and a late lunch the next day and neither meal disappointed. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanderbosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are pleased you enjoyed your time and meals at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Nice location, handy for town, golf course etc. Check in was horrible- receptionist was rude, and to be honest a bit slow on the uptake. Room was basic but clean. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Bar service ok- quite pricey and they ran out of draught lager on the Saturday night.
All in, not bad, functional and ticked the boxes for a weekends golfing. Seems poorly managed and the reception staff defo need some additional training. Would not rush back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gorgieroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Many thanks for your review, I will discuss your comments with my reception team. With regards to draught lager, at present we are not serving tennants in our lounge bar due to a problem with the pipes not due to lack of stock. Thank you again for your comments.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We spent two nights at the Eight Acres, in April. The hotel was busy, with a large number of tourists, many dressed in outfits that would certainly have made them stand out on the golf course , even in the sandstorms that were raging on our arrival.

The receptionist was helpful; we had been allocated a double room instead of the twin we had booked and she looked after our bags while a suitable room was found. The room itself was very basic. The beds were comfortable and the bedding was clean, but the decor was tired, there was no bath in the ensuite and the top drawer of the open drawer unit in the wardrobe recess was broken and hanging down. The windows were dirty, but there was not much of a view anyway. The room was reached by stairs; there did not appear to be a lift.

Whilst waiting for the room my daughter and a relative went to the bar area and found that the assistants had difficulty in using the coffee machine. The bar area was clean and airy and had enough space to enable a quiet conversation.

Meals were problematic as my daughter is vegetarian; there were few options for her on the menu. One night she had chips and vegetables the second she tried a mushroom risotto. The risotto was not well cooked, far to strong and the rice was undercooked, so she just ate chips. My steak and roast meals were ok, although the steak was more well done than medium I had requested. The breakfast was average but there was a strong fishy smell and this was off- putting. The hot food looked and tasted as though it had been there a while too long and the coffee was way too strong.

The leisure facilities ( pool, hot tub, sauna ) were clean and there was plenty of room in the pool, although the changing area was very small. The staff were helpful.

There was a fire alarm activation during our stay, and I was surprised to see people ambling out of the building up to ten minutes after it had started ! The assembly point was well signposted, but offered no shelter. Thermal blankets were provided for swimmers. I felt some sort of marshalling from the staff, and announcements about what was happening would have been appropriate.. Eventually the fire brigade arrived, and when they left, people wandered back inside.

I was unable to obtain two hot chocolates at 9.30pm, because the assistant could not find any and the internet service was extremely slow and sometimes non existant. I was informed that an engineer had been booked to look at the problem.

Overall not what I'd expected, and this stay did not compare favourably with others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jum0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us, we appreciate all your comments and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elgin hotels
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
0.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
449 reviews
1.5 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
#5 of 7 in Elgin
102 reviews
1 mi away
The Mansefield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Morriston Road | Morayshire, Elgin IV30 6UL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range: £62 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eight Acres Hotel And Leisure Club
8 Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Crerar Eight Acres Hotel Leisure
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing