We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super stay in a fab room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mansion House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Super stay in a fab room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

I stayed here on my own on business in late January 2013. I received a friendly welcome, had a very large room with a wonderful 4-poster bed, a huge bathroom with separate bath and gigantic shower, good sized TV and kettle/tea mking facilities. Free wifi was a bonus (though it didnt work very well in the lounge). Dinner was good (the scallops starter was divine and the rest of a good standard). The gym was adequate though the pool was tired. Overall, a lovely stay and better than anywhere else Ive stayed in Elgin. I'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HillwalkerEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Many thanks for your review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that on your next visit to Elgin you reside with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    106
    38
    13
    19
See reviews for
56
182
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We had a lovely night at the mansion house - lovely little pool and jacuzzi which was not over run by children either. lovely traditional furnishings and some beatiful antique pieces. The staff are fantastic - true professionals, and the dinner and breakfast were outstanding. my only negative point is that some things are in need of a tickle up or fix, ie the radiator in our 4 poster room was a bit rusted looking down the front and some of the public areas need reviewd - that being said, we would definitely go back - very very comfortable..and food excellent! and the best hotel bed I have ever slept on!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review of your recent stay with us, we are delighted you had a great time. We realise that there are certain areas of the hotel requiring some attention and this will commence in the next few months. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed here last night and all I can say is everything was fantastic. The room was lovely, very clean and could not fault it. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The meal was out of this world, I haven't had such a great meal for a long long time! Already planning our next visit....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lols91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for posting a review regarding your stay at the weekend. It is great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and will pass your lovely comments on to all the staff concerned. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

4 of us have just been for a meal here, it was gorgeous! The meal was stunning, I had the haggis starter then roast chicken for main then sorbet for desert and every part of it was delicious! Would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaz3175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your dining experience. We are delighted to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your recent dinner and hope that we may have the pleasure in welcoming you all back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

once again escorted my mum to her diagio xmas meal at mansion house . As usual the meal was delicious and hot , i love the silver service , waiters and waitresses were very quick at service but it didn't feel rushed and also they were very pleasant . Roll on to next years dinner

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding the recent Diageo Christmas Lunch. It's great to hear that you and your mum thoroughly enjoyed your meals. It is always a pleasure to serve the Diageo parties. Have a good Christmas and see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Myself, husband and 2 friends ate here on a saturday night.. We are all locals and had never eaten here before. The food was amazing. The scallops were cooked to perfection and the staff really could not have done more for us, they were all very polite, friendly and professional. We will definately be eating here again. Our only reccommendation would be some light background music whilst you eat...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 919Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent dining experience. It is great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your meal and compliments will passed to all concerned. We are sorry that the music volume was too low and will make sure that it will be at a correct level in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed here on business and really enjoyed it. Room was beautiful and staff very helpful. Was leaving before breakfast started but was brought a tray to my room, with toast, juice and coffee. Very good indeed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwifraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Many thanks for your review regarding your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.7 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mansefield Hotel
0.3 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
#5 of 7 in Elgin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Property: Mansion House
Address: The Haugh, Elgin IV30 1AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Elgin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elgin
#4 Family Hotel in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion House Hotel is nestled on the banks of the River Lossie within beautiful grounds,yet only a few minutes’ walk to the historical centre of Elgin.We are the perfect destination for business, pleasure or special celebration. Our 23 bedrooms and public rooms are decorated in elegant country house style.Enjoy fine dining and traditional Scottish cuisine in the surroundings of our elegant restaurant or a lighter snack in the hotel’s bistro. We only use the finest of fresh local produce.We can cater for weddings and functions up to 180 people, with menus to suit every taste and budget.Our professional team will look after your every need to make sure that your day is truly memorable.Whether it be a relaxing break or exploring trip we are ideally situated in the heart of the “Whisky and Castle Trails”. Elgin also boasts an abundance of excellent golf courses nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Elgin
Mansion Hotel Elgin
Mansion House Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing