We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond package through balance the body”
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mansion House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Diamond package through balance the body”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We bought diamond package through balance the body salon for a gift for my mum and aunts birthdays, they said it was excellent and were treated like queens, the bedroom was beautiful, the food was great and the treatments in the salon were excellent, I would highly recommend!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. It's great to hear that your Mum and Aunt enjoyed their Birthday gift. We will pass on your kind comments to Lynnie (Balance the Body) who I am sure will be delighted to hear that they both thoroughly enjoyed their treatments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    114
    46
    14
    23
See reviews for
63
198
10
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Just one night at this hotel although I wish it could have been much longer.

Approaching the hotel you are met with this wonderful building that would not look out of place ona film set.

Check in was simple and I was shown to the room by the receptionist, a good sized room with a huge TV a very welcoming room after a long day of travel.

Although I did not eat dinner in the restaurant I did visit the bar and there is a great selection of whisky available and I would recommend one of the many Speysides on offer.

One thing I will always remember about this hotel ia the breakfast. ....all I can say is wow! None of the usual breakfast buffet you find at other hotels, this was cooked to order and was amazing.

Would I recommend The Mansion House? Yes I would, a great hotel in a great location with exceptional staff. ..what more could you want?

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Welshtraveller36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us. What more could we want than very complimentary reviews like this! We hope that you visit again and get the chance to sample our new Dinner menus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Husband and I , stayed here for one night , after receiving a gift from our daughter and son in law.We had a lovely afternoon in the hotels facilities , we had hot stone massages in Balance the Body, Hopi ear , swimming pool , only downside of pool was the changing area lockers , the sauna was great . Our bedroom was gorgeous , very clean , lovely bathroom , couldn't fault it . We ate at the hotel restaurant , food was delicious, and reasonably priced , our breakfast in the morning was also great , plenty to eat . The staff at the hotel were fantastic , went out their way to help , and gave us a fantastic day . The hotel is beautiful inside and out , would love to go back .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davejeanmch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much for your very complimentary review. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay on the occasion of your Wedding Anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Staff were excellent and we enjoyed breakfast and dinner. Room was well below that expected. Above the pool area it was hot, stuffy, smelt of damp and pool and, despite us being very used to hotel rooms, hindered a good nights sleep. Yes to the hotel. No to the room - number 17 I think.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry to hear that Room 17 did not meet your expectations. Admittedly the room can be on the warm side on occasions as it is above the pool area, but we have never been advised of a damp smell from any guests or housekeeping staff. We hope that this has not put you off and that you return to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

lovely rooms, service good and very friendly staff. We did not have dinner but breakfast was first class. Public areas such need attention as carpets very worn and paint / wallpaper coming away from walls. We would return but only on a discounted deal as rack rates are not representative of the property.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dufis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your stay in September. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay but understand that some areas require attention, which are earmarked for early 2014. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was well appointed and much larger than we expected. I couldn't have asked for anything more considering the location and price. We were in Elgin for a wedding and we wanted to stay somewhere unique and this was it. The food was outstanding as well. Staff was helpful and the hotel was centrally located to all of our events and local sight seeing. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyinStPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with us! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding and what a lovely building. Beautiful inside and on very lovely grounds. Stayed from the Friday till the Monday and got full use of all the facilities. Great pool facilities and really clean. Although not owned by the hotel there is a beauty and hair department. I didn't have an appointment to get my hair down for the wedding and the hairdresser fitted me :). Recommend!

However there is small negatives. Personally I felt that there was a lack of variety of alcoholic drinks that suit non- whiskey/spirit drinkers. Also though our the stay whilst in the wee bar whenever we wanted a drink we had to get the receptionist to serve us as there wasn't a permeant bar tender( understandable).

Staff couldn't do enough for us though so friendly and happy. Apart from one. A night porter we found quite rude and treated us as children. He came to us at 1.59 and said bar closes at 2, out of respect he could of said would use like a drink before the bar closes . And then stated when we asked for ice "now no carrying on and throwing about. We're in our 30s and wouldn't dare.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malibu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that you felt there was a lack of variety of alcoholic drinks apart from spirits, in our opinion we have a very large selection of various alcoholic beverages and very rarely we would be asked for something that we do not stock. The wee bar is not manned as it works mainly as a dispenser bar, reception being located opposite so they can serve any guests who go in to the bar.

We are very sorry to hear that you were offended by our night porter, he has got a dry sense of humour and would not have intended to cause offence by his comment.

We sincerely hope that any of the points raised did not spoil your stay and look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to the Mansion House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.7 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
286 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
181 reviews
13.2 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
237 reviews
5.0 mi away
Stotfield Hotel
Stotfield Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lossiemouth
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Property: Mansion House
Address: The Haugh, Elgin IV30 1AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Elgin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elgin
#4 Family Hotel in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion House Hotel is nestled on the banks of the River Lossie within beautiful grounds,yet only a few minutes’ walk to the historical centre of Elgin.We are the perfect destination for business, pleasure or special celebration. Our 23 bedrooms and public rooms are decorated in elegant country house style.Enjoy fine dining and traditional Scottish cuisine in the surroundings of our elegant restaurant or a lighter snack in the hotel’s bistro. We only use the finest of fresh local produce.We can cater for weddings and functions up to 180 people, with menus to suit every taste and budget.Our professional team will look after your every need to make sure that your day is truly memorable.Whether it be a relaxing break or exploring trip we are ideally situated in the heart of the “Whisky and Castle Trails”. Elgin also boasts an abundance of excellent golf courses nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Elgin
Mansion Hotel Elgin
Mansion House Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing