We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find - A fine friendly hotel and excellent food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mansion House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A real find - A fine friendly hotel and excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We enjoyed two nights at the Mansion House hotel, Elgin - a lovely base, convenient for exploring this very interesting area. Grand surroundings with friendly, helpful staff and relaxed atmosphere. Spacious, comfortable, well-fitted, recently refurbished bedroom with beautiful views. Excellent breakfast - particularly good smoked haddock with poached egg - and dinner with local produce and reasonable wines. Our first visit here and somewhere to return to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel-on-two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for your recent review. It's fantastic to hear all your lovely comments regarding your 2 night stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    107
    38
    13
    19
See reviews for
56
182
8
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I can't review the rooms but as a leisure club member I felt a need to share my concerns.
The changing facilities are dangerous, slippery underfoot and mats which are a trip hazard. We've taken few falls this week.
The whole place should have been revamped 10yrs ago, it's fallen into such an ugly state.
The gym equipment is outdated but it works.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabrown2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We find it very strange that you are reporting falls on Trip Advisor when you could have advised a member of our Country Club Staff when you claimed this happened. We find you comments to be a bit unfair, the Gym Equipment is not outdated and on going maintenance is carried out in the Country Club although a major refurbishment will be completed by the end of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We're just back from a night at this hotel and loved every minute. Our aim was for relaxation and that's what we got! Receptionist was lovely,our room was clean and bathroom was perfect. We ate in the restaurant and I was very impressed with my steak cooked to perfection! After dinner we had a drink from the bar and sat in a cosey corner. Got a great sleep and woke to a lovely breakfast. We never used pool facility so can't comment on that. Oh also there wasn't a wedding on so also can't comment on noise if there was one. Overall a great,pleasant place to stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: We slept in room 16 with a great comfy sleigh bed,you can see the river from it but wouldn't cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Many thanks for your recent review. We are very happy to hear that you loved every minute of your stay and hope to welcome you both back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel the night before a wedding somewhere else. It took 5 minutes for a receptionist (also the beautician) to get to the desk. When she arrived she was outstanding! She was polite and fun, and showed us to our room. The room was terrific. The bed huge, wooden and comfortable. My wife has a thing about bathrooms and gave this ensuite the thumbs up!

We ate in the bistro, rather than the restaurant and the food was first rate. The public room where we had a preprandial drink was lovely, full of comfy chairs and leather sofas. Perhaps the waitresses could have been better trained but they were certainly pleasant.

I used the swimming area which was manned by a lifeguard. However, the changing area was "tired" with no lockable lockers. There were lockers but the locks had been retired. The shower area had two different shower heads, neither of which wee great. The 15m(?) pool was fine, as was the jacuzzi next to it. The steam room needs upgrading as the walls are spider-cracked. The sauna was good.

My wife had a pedicure and thought it a little expensive for the service. The beer was London prices!

The charge for a night for a lovely double room was £154. However, we have paid less with Holiday Inn (with good leisure facilities) and thus our view is a little coloured.

Room Tip: Room 16 was away from the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShiplakeHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, we are aware the leisure facilities require upgrading and this will be addressed soon. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back if you return to Elgin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here on the 13th March and I have to say this is definitely 1 of our top 5 favourite hotels, we just can't rate it high enough.
The hotel is stunning inside and out, the staff are so friendly and really can't do enough for you and the food really is out of this world. Our room was very spacious with 1 of the biggest beds we have ever seen and a very luxurious bathroom.
Beautiful grounds and very close to the town centre.

Room Tip: Room 5, Double - En-suite - Superior - Four Poster, 1 of the most romantic rooms you'll ever see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kels_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to hear that you have rated us one of your top 5 favourite hotels! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishcross, Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

From first impression from the driveway, this hotel is stunning. A lot of care has been given by David, the owner, to ensure that his guests have an enjoyable comfortable stay in this wonderful building. The staff seem to go the extra mile to make sure you are happy, they are an asset. In each of the public rooms a lot of thought has gone into ensuring a comfortable but luxurious environment. The bedroom we stayed in was beautiful, though it was in the centre of the building and there was no view other than the rooftop, the room more than made up for this, gorgeous bed and stunning bathroom. The hotel is near the High Street of Elgin (5 minutes walk) but within the grounds (perfectly manicured) you would not be aware of this.

Room Tip: I think any room will please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magsinnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of it and hope that you may return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Four of stayed at the Mansion House on a golfing holiday. The hotel exceeded our expectations - very clean with friendly staff and great food. The spa was very welcome after the golf course and the hotel has several excellent courses within easy driving distance. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Many thanks for your review and recommendation. It's great to hear that we exceeded your expectations on your Golfing holiday. We hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.7 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mansefield Hotel
0.3 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
#5 of 7 in Elgin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Property: Mansion House
Address: The Haugh, Elgin IV30 1AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Elgin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elgin
#4 Family Hotel in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion House Hotel is nestled on the banks of the River Lossie within beautiful grounds,yet only a few minutes’ walk to the historical centre of Elgin.We are the perfect destination for business, pleasure or special celebration. Our 23 bedrooms and public rooms are decorated in elegant country house style.Enjoy fine dining and traditional Scottish cuisine in the surroundings of our elegant restaurant or a lighter snack in the hotel’s bistro. We only use the finest of fresh local produce.We can cater for weddings and functions up to 180 people, with menus to suit every taste and budget.Our professional team will look after your every need to make sure that your day is truly memorable.Whether it be a relaxing break or exploring trip we are ideally situated in the heart of the “Whisky and Castle Trails”. Elgin also boasts an abundance of excellent golf courses nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Elgin
Mansion Hotel Elgin
Mansion House Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing