We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great weekend at Old Duffus”
other travellers have booked this property
Old Duffus Farmhouse - giving you spectacular views of Duffus Castle which is right on your doorstep
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Duffus Farmhouse - giving you spectacular views of Duffus Castle which is right on your doorstep
Generous grassed, enclosed garden perfect for BBQs and games on those long summer evenings. View of Duffus Castle from the garden - just 1 field away - ideal for those early morning walks!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Old Duffus Farmhouse - giving you spectacular views of Duffus Castle which is right on your doorstep
Generous grassed, enclosed garden perfect for BBQs and games on those long summer evenings.
View of Duffus Castle from the garden - just 1 field away - ideal for those early morning walks!
Main double with stunning castle view
Main double
View of castle from main double room
Spacious 2nd double room
2nd double room
The comfortable and bright south facing living room which overlooks the Castle
Large farmhouse kitchen. Ideal for long leisurely meals around the table
Large farmhouse kitchen
Ideal room for those long nights sat around the kitchen table with friends family
Twin room 1is full of character and again has that all important castle view
Twin room 1
Castle view from twin room 1
Cosy twin room 2 with castle view
Spacious hall
Spacious yet cosy living room. Wood burning stove and open views across to the castle.
Living room
Castle view for your evening glass of wine!
From the ruins of the Castle
Findhorn Bay - the place to take boat trips to see the famous dolphins of the Moray Firth
Stunning endless sandy beach at Lossiemouth
Moray Golf Course - Two classic links courses to test your skills
Breathtaking Randolph's Leap - great spot for picnics
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Pssei
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great weekend at Old Duffus”
Reviewed 29 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Just returned from a great weekend at Old Duffus, which suited our needs perfectly. I was lucky enough to get the master bedroom with its wonderfully comfortable bed and superb views of Duffus Castle. As soon as I woke up, I opened the curtains so I could lie in bed and take it all in!

Old Duffus is a pretty big property but despite its size, we found it to be really warm and cosy. Despite it being May, we did light the log burning stove one evening and I imagine this is a real bonus in the depths of winter! We found the kitchen to be really well-equipped and the large table was great not only for dining, but also for whiling away the time chatting over a cup of tea – or a bottle of wine! Having two bathrooms was great, and the towels provided were so nice and fluffy.

Location-wise, Old Duffus suited our needs perfectly and made a great base for exploring the area. We particularly loved the gorgeous beaches at Lossiemouth, which are just minutes away by car.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Old Duffus, and hope to return myself very soon – with any luck, next time it will be for more than a weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views of Duffus Castle
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hufri
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Lovely farmhouse with stunning view!”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The farmhouse is in a stunning location right next door to Duffus Castle.

The farmhouse itself has a lovely cosy feel to it, particularly the sitting room with its log burning stove. All the bedrooms are a good size and furnished with everything you need. There are two bathrooms in the house which is ideal for when the house is full. The kitchen was very well equipped and modern with a large table able to seat eight making it a really sociable room.

Whilst I only had the pleasure of staying 3 nights, there was certainly plenty to do in the surrounding area.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the farmhouse and would recommend!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bassodont...
Trieste, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cozy and quiet”
Reviewed 18 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I found the Duffus Farmhouse by chance and could not be more lucky. My friends and I spent five beautiful days in this large, comfortable and cozy cottage. We arrived late on the first night but the owners had arranged for the heating to be on and a very nice welcome basket for breakfast. Caroline is extremely kind and helpful and will really contribute to make your stay a memorable one. The house has four large bedrooms, two huge bathrooms, a living room (DVD’s, sat TV, games are provided) and a large kitchen with family table that could easily sit 12 people. It is well equipped with kitchen appliances, washer, drier, and many more amenities, last, but by no means least free wifi. There are two nice fireplaces and initial complimentary supply of logs is provided, but we did not use them.
The house is located right underneath the ruins of the Duffus Castle (which can be seen from many rooms) in the middle of the Moray countryside making it a fascinating and somewhat intriguing place to be. I wish we could have taken advantage of the beautiful outdoors (barbecue is provided) a bit more, but the weather did not allow it. All in all a wonderful experience, I hope I will repeat soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Reviewed 5 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the facilities, super gardens and views
Liked least: having to come home !!!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: travelling
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2012 for a stay in March 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the house and its presentation - clean and modern
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northern Ireland
Reviewed 31 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & relaxation
Liked least: very little
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing