We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect holiday cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Lodge

Character cottage surrounded by beautiful countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Character cottage surrounded by beautiful countryside
The Lodge at the gates of Duffus House Cosy sitting room with beautiful open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Character cottage surrounded by beautiful countryside
The Lodge at the gates of Duffus House
Cosy sitting room with beautiful open fire
Serene master bedroom
Bright single bedroom
Well equipped kitchen
Bathroom
Lawn at side of property
Large enclosed garden ideal for BBQs and relaxing with a glass of wine on a summer's evening
Spacious garden surrounded by woodland and fields
Iconic Lossiemouth beach just 5 miles away
Colourful beach huts at Hopeman beach
Railway path at Cummingston - leads from Burghead to Lossiemouth - fantastic clifftop walk!
Tranquil Findhorn bay in historic village
Sunset at Duffus Castle - just 5 minutes from The Lodge
Eglin Cathedral from the Cooper Park, Elgin
View of Clasach cove
Iconic bridge to beach at Lossiemouth
Hopeman Harbour
Having a bale of a time!
Lossiemouth Golf Course
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katie M
1 review
“The perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

I cannot recommend this cottage enough. What an absolute gem. We arrived and the owners definitely go way out and beyond for anyone who stays here. I can't find any faults at all with the beautiful cottage. Absolutely perfect for anyone coming with a dog, fabulous walks close by. I will definitely be booking this cottage again when visiting family! Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2017
Wow, thank you so much for such a lovely review. Our guests' enjoyment is at the heart of everything we do here at Duffus Estate. To know that our hard work is appreciated certainly makes it all worthwhile. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
Best wishes,
Caroline
(Owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Mich...
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Small, clean, cute, and homely”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

You hit on a hitherto untried self-catering cottage and you never know quite what to expect. Well, the Lodge is OK., particularly if you are accompanied by a four-legged traveler because there is a dog-proof fenced grassy area, complete with a bit of decking, garden table, and chairs. Parking is off-road and passing traffic is fairly light. So what about the inside? Nice, comfy bed, plenty of cupboard storage, decent bathroom, well-equipped kitchen with some pretty tableware, The adjacent utility room was a bit 'niffy' and possibly needs a plumber's attention 'down under'. Comfortable sitting room with an adequate TV and free-of-charge WiFi.

All in all, fairly basic but definitely reasonable value for money, and within easy access of Moray Firth sandy beaches, Culbin Forest, the Whisky Trail, Tesco at Elgin . . . what more could anyone desire?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Hi, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. I am pleased you enjoyed you stay. I'm sorry you found the utility room 'a bit niffy'. It's a shame you did not contact us during your stay as we could have looked into this and resolved any issue. We do work hard to try to ensure all our properties are spotlessly clean, fresh and comfortable,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking time to write us a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back to Duffus Estate next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
Hello, many thanks for writing a review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South West
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Thank you, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We always try to give our guests a wee 'taste of Moray' with our welcome packs - I'm glad you enjoyed it. We would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
susieblue...
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cosy, well equipped, homely cottage”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Brilliant location for visiting the Moray coast.
The welcome pack of rolls, jam, milk, local beer etc was a great idea and much appreciated.
Large spacious dog friendly accommodation, with good garden space.
Easy to find and close to great selection of Forestry Commission woods.
Would definitely recommend and will be back ourselves.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2017
Thanks for writing us a review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the welcome pack - we try to give our guests a wee 'taste of Moray'. We'd be delighted to welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Dec 2016
So glad you enjoyed your pre-Christmas break. We'd be delighted to welcome you and Barney back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing