We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Highland Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mansion House Hotel Restaurant

Mansion House Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 77 Restaurants in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Traditional Highland Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

An fantastic Scottish hotel with traditional service and values. Within walking distance of Elgin town and all that that has to offer. Fantastic menu and excellent service . Enjoyed stay and would recommend to anyone who wants to experience some great Scottish hospitality

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    13
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
moray
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

we had a very nice family meal here, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the meal was enjoyable and the building along with the decor was very grand. i would defiantly recommend this hotel/restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank carsey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Had gone out for our anniversary meal we went on a lunchtime to be very disappointed started off well with the starter and was excited to get our mains but it came out luke warm no flavour and didn't enjoy it at all! Not one member of staff came back to ask was everything okay ! We was the only ones in the restaurant so wasn't like they was rushed off there feet! Could hear the chefs shouting and foul mouths! Not what I want to hear over the music. We just left with still no staff around went to reception and paid our bill we went out to have a wonderful meal and left thinking what a waste of £60 and that wasn't even with a desert!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
249 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Quality food, service and a good wine list. Probably the best Scottish food in town. The Salmon dish was outstanding and the haggis was even better.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bariatricrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“TASTELESS FOOD”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The dinner menu was overpriced and the food generally tasteless and not especially appetising looking. The wine list was also expensive, with few wines offered by the glass and none by a half bottle or carafe. The waitresses tried their best, but their ill fitting uniforms, which made them look like dental assistants, did them few favours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlesMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We were surprised to find these comments on your review, we feel that we do have enough House wine on offer for the size and type of business that we are, we have 2 Red, 2 White and 1 Rose as House Wines along with 49 bins of Wine on our list which indeed include 7 1/2 bottles (which people do not order very often) We are disappointed that the food was not to your taste but we are on a par with the rest of Elgin price wise. We think it was rather distasteful that you felt it necessary to be offensive about the staff, who by your own admission on our hotel trip advisor page were only polite and friendly towards you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mansion House Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mansion House Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing