We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful food, good service.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pancake Place

The Pancake Place
Ranked #8 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Elgin
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: British, Scottish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awful food, good service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The food was awful, my son and wife had the macaroni cheese, we didn't let my son eat it as there was a taste of cleaning fluid in the cheese. The chips where cold, and the drinks where flat. My all day breakfast was dried out and tasteless.

The service was ok, staff friendly enough, it's a shame they can't make the food better!

Will not return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ccg186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at The Pancake Place, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Sorry you didn't enjoy your meal, can't understand why you perceived a strange taste from your macaroni cheese, we do use a sanitiser to clean down food preparation areas but it is an accredited foodsafe product which is odourless and tasteless. We sell a huge amount of Macaroni cheese each day so it is always freshly made and we haven't encountered any similar problems. However if your dish was not up to standard I am sorry and we would have been happy to change or replace it for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    28
    17
    18
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ok cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Popped in for a quick coffee, have tasted Better coffee but pancake with ice cream very good. The ambience is ok but decor needs updating

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at The Pancake Place, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed the pancakes they are our signature dish after all! We get our coffee beans from Liberty coffee which supplies us with an american style blend, it is a fairly easy drinking smooth coffee but we are happy to make it stronger or weaker on request, just ask and we will try to get it just right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Woman vs food, food won”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Welcoming staff, good selection on menu. Ordered the pancakes, maple syrup & bacon. 3 large pancakes which were more than enough. Couldn't finish them all even though they were tasty. Pot of tea holds 3 cups. Free wifi also. Will certainly go back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ainsley_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We're so interactive with my children! Breakfast and pancakes were really delicious and we were stuffed when we left! Super tasty! Been a few times and will definately go again! X

Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Good place to eat when in town shopping, friendly staff and good value.
Youngest daughter loves the 'piggies in a blanket'

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pancake Place also viewed

 

Been to The Pancake Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing