We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have just had a great weekend at this hotel .very handy for the station & the food is very very good .The staff also are very helpful Will definitely stay here agin next time we are in Elgin keep up the good work

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diner80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Staff very friendly and polite .. very calming and relaxing atmosphere after hard long day at work .. Annex room was clean, tidy and well presented .. meals were first class and especially enjoyed the delicious Cullen Skink and venison from the menu .. Easy walking distance to any local bars, hotels and restaurants .. good relaxing stay and will return next time in the area ...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank AMTravellerAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Booked into hotel from 23-26 May. On arrival reception staff were first class and we were quickly shown to our room which was excellent. All we needed for our stay. Booked dinner in restaurant on the Saturday night and at just over £60 for three was great value for money. Highlight was the deconstructed cheesecake which would not have been amiss on Masterchef. Breakfast was cooked to order and sets you up for the day ahead.

Overall an excellent family run hotel and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Had a really lovely meal at the Royal last night. The food was excellent, portion size just right and all presented beautifully. Clean plates all round. The staff are really friendly and efficient . We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heathergMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had a lovely meal here last weekend. We were seated at the large round table by the window so there was plenty room for the 5 of us.The food was superb & lovely presented. Highly recommend this little gem as Elgin has very few good eateries. Lovely clean modern dining room & lovely staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassisnipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Organised an outing for 13 people to have a meal at the Royal Hotel.
The staff and owner were excellent with their assistance in helping to ensure the night went well.
All the meals were very well presented, delicious and a good plate full.
All who attended were full of praise for the meal and service and are keen to return soon.
Would certainly rate this as the best places to eat in Elgin.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George7620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Popped in for lunch having past the hotel for yrs finally went in and was not disappointed . Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was delicious , so much so booked a table for evening in few days so hoping it will be just as good .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 1archie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.1 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
294 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
0.7 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
#5 of 7 in Elgin
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mansefield Hotel
12.6 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Royal Hotel Station Road, Elgin IV30 1QW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Elgin
#3 Family Hotel in Elgin
#6 Business Hotel in Elgin
Price Range: £94 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small family run hotel was built by a whiskey baron as a private residence and dates back to the middle of the last century. Ideally situated for the Speyside whiskey trail, golfing, the Speyside way, fishing and we are a few minutes walk to Elgin's town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing