We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Robert C

Great Hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Aug 2023
A very nice Hotel I was away for business. I had a very big room and the WiFi was very good too. Great breakfast Nicola was very helpful which also included doing some laundry for us as well which really helped us out with our work clothes. I Will look to staying there again on my next business trip.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
0.0 miles from The Royal Hotel-Elgin
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
0.6 miles from The Royal Hotel-Elgin
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.2 miles from The Royal Hotel-Elgin
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from The Royal Hotel-Elgin
Free Wifi
Free parking
£158
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £158
0.3 miles from The Royal Hotel-Elgin
Free Wifi
Free parking
£135
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £135
0.5 miles from The Royal Hotel-Elgin
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Agoda.com
0.8 miles from The Royal Hotel-Elgin
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
3.9 miles from The Royal Hotel-Elgin
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £107
  • Expedia.com
    £113
0.7 miles from The Royal Hotel-Elgin
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Elgin
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
114
54
26
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
114
54
26
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food was lovely couple of nights first floor comfortable bed nicola lidl
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2023

We didnt stay, used restaurant only - was superb. Staff welcoming, food excellent. Had a 3 course meal 26th Aug for our daughters birthday. Asked on arrival privately, if my daughter was able for pudding could they throw a candle on top or something. The lovely waitress said she would see what they could do. Not only did the cheesecake come with 3 candles and singing, they went out and got candles especially when the pudding order went in! How many places would do that? Staff were so friendly and welcoming. Food amazing. All 3 courses and the red wine were perfect. We couldn't find a single fault. The mango cheesecake and sticky toffee pudding was beautiful. Cheesecake soooo light.
Portion sizes generous and prices fair. Regret not taking food photos but couldn't wait to try it all!
We will definitely be back the next time we are in Elgin.
Plenty of parking at hotel or across the road.
I have no idea why this restaurant wasn't full tonight. It deserved to be!

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WendyFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2023

Went to the Royal for a family meal, the menu was limited and the two fish dishes on it were not available. The food we had were very well cooked and tasty and reasonably priced. The service by the one and only young lady was very good and service was quick. How ever the price of drinks was astronomical and with no ice available, there was only one draft lager Tenants ,it was disappointing, the bar also shut at 9.30 which was a shock,

Room tip: Avoid the drinks
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2023

Just back from a very disappointing stay at the Royal Hotel Elgin. We booked our stay way back in April for 3 nights at a cost of £357 through booking.com. On arrival we were met by the manager who spoke but wasn’t overly friendly, only told us what we needed to know and asked for our payment of £357, which I happily paid. Our first disappointment was to be told that the bar and restaurant (two separate rooms), were only open from 5-8:30pm each night but both were closed on the Sunday. Both these rooms were nicely decorated but had no atmosphere about them at all. We were told our room was room 17 on the second floor (or in the attic to you and me). On entering the room we found it to be like the photos online but it only had a small 24 inch square window which was in a recess of the roof of the building, hence making the room very dark and claustrophobic. The room was very bland, no pictures on the walls, the two bedside lights didn’t work, there was a small desk light with the wrong size of bulb protruding from the shade as a replacement but only at one side of the bed.
The bathroom was another disaster area, a very strong stench of damp or mould met you as you opened the door. The shower cubical was nice and big with sliding doors but the shower itself was totally uncontrollable, either freezing or scalding. One of our bath towels was badly stained, I’d to ask for a replacement. When you sat on the toilet it leaked from the back and the water came running through your toes. I did complain about this and was told it would be sorted but wasn’t. It would have needed a plumber to fix it. The paint on the walls of the bathroom was all flakey and peeling off. We were going to ask for a change of room but on looking at the reviews and photos we thought our room was maybe one of the better ones.
Breakfast was another disappointment, very self service, limited choice of cereals, we had to get our own toast which I didn’t mind but the bread was of very poor quality. The milk was in the plastic container just as it comes from the supermarket. Fresh fruit was just on a shelf in the chill cabinet, not in a bowl or basket. There was no pastries, rolls etc. My husband had a cooked breakfast which only had one sausage which was so tough you could hardly cut through it, one slice of black pudding which was soggy and raw in the middle, needless to say we had breakfast elsewhere the next two mornings.
Each time we came back to the hotel the manager was standing by the doorway smoking, very off putting. We certainly didn’t feel it was worth the money we paid. We definitely won’t be returning nor recommending to anyone.

Room tip: Avoid, try elsewhere.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 250jenniferi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2023

Met by manager on arrival, and money for stay demanded up-front.
Stayed in room 12 with my partner and our 5 year old.
Spacious room, and that is where the good comments end.
Dirty and worn carpet, curtain hanging from rail, light not working above mirror, bird excrement on window which had obviously been there for days, then found out the next morning the shower did not work. Room of very poor dated decor throught.
Moved to the neighbouring room (14) by the onsite morning manager Nicola (who was genuinely 5 star for her service and helpfulness).
Decent breakfast, and would give it 3/5 stars.
Room 14 then developed a leaking ceiling with water dripping into the room.....I later found out speaking to other staff, that room 14 had suffered from previous water ingresses before.....
Having booked for 3 nights, we packed our bags and following a heated conversation with the foreign manager, finally got a full refund, and were lucky to find a room at the Mansfield Hotel, which is night and day, and could not recommend higher.
I understand the the Royal Elgin Hotel is owned by a company down south, and they also operate The Mansion House Hotel in Elgin, and please look at the recent reviews of this too.
Very sad that Hotels are not as advertised in the pictures online, and would avoid at all cost, both The Royal Hotel and The Mansion House Hotel if visiting the Elgin area.
Definitely not worth the money being advertised.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Freedom493122
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2023

The hotel staff were incredibly polite and welcoming to my family and I during our two day visit. The rooms were spacious with nice soft carpets and the beds were fresh and comfortable during two very hot summer nights. The bathrooms were really nice and modern with a good amount of space and great lighting including a fantastic light up mirror. The hotel maid was especially helpful, friendly and kind and she happily made sure we had everything we needed while always respecting our space. The restaurant food was of high quality, served quickly and my family would definitely recommend the royal burger and cheesecake! The area was peaceful at night and the hotel was close enough to both an Asda and Lidl for buying any essentials. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area for a pleasant night's stay with no hassle and good food.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Shona Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews