We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding”
Review of Laichmoray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laichmoray Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our wedding”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Had a fantastic wedding , the staff have been so helpful . The food was excellent , venue was really well laid out . Bridal suit was great , think it had just been refurbished.
Would like to thank all the staff for making our day special . Would highly recommend this for a wedding venue

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthewB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    102
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
42
85
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lothians
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Never again-some of the worst food I have ever paid to eat! You would have thought fish would be a safe bet in this neck of the woods???But oh no-clearly frozen as opposed to fresh. Polite complaints not received with good grace. wont be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sealwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed here for a few days on business and never again. The food is overpriced and frozen and the two times I have stayed I have felt ill the next day after eating in the restaurant.
Also the staff were not very welcoming and it felt like was iterrupting staff chit-chat when I needed a topup of my wine or went to recpetion desk.
Will not be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fishingqueen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed here over a 4 week period, good rooms, clean and quiet.
Food is good, breakfast plentiful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burghead, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

we got married here in 2009 and the day itself was great, but the following day we had awful food and my wife had hair in her desert. We were supposed to stay the night after our wedding but ended up going home as the room was 'dirty' after being serviced and the bath had hair in it (we hadnt used the bath or shower the day before we got ready at home). Had another bad experience in November, food was terrible and neither one of us felt 'right' the following day, there were 7 of us out for a meal and all of us were ill

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobandStacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2012

What can I say about this Hotel other than "Fantastic". The staff are superb nothing is ever too much trouble, rooms spacious and comfortable . The bar is cosy and tranquil with the most amazing range of Single Malt's, the food is always excellent and the portions generous to say the least and the breakfast to die for. The title of my review says it all, if I am ever in the far North of Scotland I will always stay at the Laichmoray Hotel because it's always nice to catch up with an Old Friend ever now and again!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Have been a regular patron for the last 15 years + and every time everything has been excellent. Good choice of food and always freshly prepared. Prices very reasonable and staff go out of their way to make it an enjoyable meal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soroba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
#5 of 7 in Elgin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laichmoray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laichmoray Hotel

Property: Laichmoray Hotel
Address: Laichmoray Hotel Maisondieu Road, Elgin IV30 1QR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elgin
#5 Business Hotel in Elgin
#5 Family Hotel in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Laichmoray Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laichmoray Hotel started its life as the Great Northern Station Hotel and the Victorian building has been tastefully and continually upgraded without losing any of its character. Warmth of atmosphere is the priority of the day at the Laichmoray for business guests and those wishing to relax and discover Moray alike. We offer personal attention and a professional service second to none. The hotel has 34 bedrooms which are individually tyled, ranging from single rooms, double rooms, adjoining family accommodation to our superior doubles. Whether it's a romantic escape, family weekend getaway or a quick business stop over, we can accommodate you. All bedrooms are equipped with Tea and Coffee making facilities, complementary toiletries, telephone, hairdryer and a flat screen television with a wide range of digital channels. In the Garden Room conservatory and Restaurant, our menus offer traditional favourites alongside modern classics, cooked to order, using only the best local produce. Our comfortable lounge is ideal for morning coffees and lunchtime snacks. Relax in the evening with a glass of wine from our extensive list or one of our 130 malt whiskies. Our banqueting suite, the Maisondieu Suite, is the perfect venue for weddings, family celebrations and dinner dances. The unique split level design allows us to serve your wedding meal on the upper level and the lounge area and dance floor are available to your guests prior to and immediately after their meal. Here at the Laichmoray we have wide experience in providing quality service for large or small conferences and meetings, we will be happy to discuss your individual requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Laichmoray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laichmoray Hotel Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing