We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food”
Review of Laichmoray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laichmoray Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Cullompton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Laichmoray for a few nights and would return again. The room was nice ang big with a the facilities you would need. The bathroom eas very spacious, with avbig bath and separate doubke shower. Food wad fantastic and always piping hot, just the way it should be.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Graeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    102
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
42
85
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nenagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Came straight to the hotel from Granton on Spey, it stands out. When I saw the steps I thought "Oh No" but they went to bad and I believe there is an easy entrance at the back. There is no lift so the very helpful receptionist changed our room to one with less stairs. Very well appointed room my only complaint was the shower head, great pressure, but by the time I had wrestled it into submission the bathroom was a bit wet! We had a very good meal at the "do" in the function room. I liked the mini Haggas as a starter. Sadly we had to rush off to catch a plane but an early Breakfast was no problem to the very peasant staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We spent one night in this Elgin hotel. Can't praise the staff highly enough - each member of staff we had contact with was friendly, welcoming as well as being very efficient - they all were happy and confident in their roles.

Our room was spotless and very comfortable.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed at the hotel whilst working in Elgin so I was there on my own. This is a family run hotel and this makes all the difference in terms of really great service - the staff all very welcoming, kind and helpful - so much nicer than the impersonal 'not too bothered' attitude of staff in other hotels have stayed in. Food great - dinner and breakfast - all made it a very relaxed and enjoyable stay. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We booked single, twin and double rooms and a hall and dining area for 67 guests this past Friday 2 May. The hotel assisted us and could not be more helpful. An excellent dinner was served by efficient staff and the chef prepared a delicious meal. The bar stayed open and was well stocked with a wide variety of single malt whiskies. Rooms have been upgraded and comfortable. Good for touring and for a medium to large party

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redbreast33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Has character though common areas little bit faded. Recently refurbed room very nice though bathroom small if that bothers you, it doesn't me. Great lounge bar with busy atmosphere during week. Dinner and breakfast good. Staff very friendly and efficient. Overall pleasant stay. Recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jgraemec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agadir, Morocco
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We keep going back for the baked potato and yellow fish mornay it is the best on the coast, I come from a fishing village and know what smoked fish is supposed to taste like and the Laichmoray have it down to a tee brilliant service and great food.
Only down point the last time we were in a gentleman in a wheelchair turned up at the back door and diners helped him in the staff never helped I thought this was in bad taste,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnstarlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
#5 of 7 in Elgin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laichmoray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laichmoray Hotel

Property: Laichmoray Hotel
Address: Laichmoray Hotel Maisondieu Road, Elgin IV30 1QR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elgin
#5 Business Hotel in Elgin
#5 Family Hotel in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Laichmoray Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laichmoray Hotel started its life as the Great Northern Station Hotel and the Victorian building has been tastefully and continually upgraded without losing any of its character. Warmth of atmosphere is the priority of the day at the Laichmoray for business guests and those wishing to relax and discover Moray alike. We offer personal attention and a professional service second to none. The hotel has 34 bedrooms which are individually tyled, ranging from single rooms, double rooms, adjoining family accommodation to our superior doubles. Whether it's a romantic escape, family weekend getaway or a quick business stop over, we can accommodate you. All bedrooms are equipped with Tea and Coffee making facilities, complementary toiletries, telephone, hairdryer and a flat screen television with a wide range of digital channels. In the Garden Room conservatory and Restaurant, our menus offer traditional favourites alongside modern classics, cooked to order, using only the best local produce. Our comfortable lounge is ideal for morning coffees and lunchtime snacks. Relax in the evening with a glass of wine from our extensive list or one of our 130 malt whiskies. Our banqueting suite, the Maisondieu Suite, is the perfect venue for weddings, family celebrations and dinner dances. The unique split level design allows us to serve your wedding meal on the upper level and the lounge area and dance floor are available to your guests prior to and immediately after their meal. Here at the Laichmoray we have wide experience in providing quality service for large or small conferences and meetings, we will be happy to discuss your individual requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Laichmoray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laichmoray Hotel Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing