We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, charming and well kept hotel in Speyside.”
Review of Laichmoray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laichmoray Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Me and my brother visited The Laichmoray Hotel because of all the destilleries in the area.
We where quite suprised about this charming hotel.
Great Staff, Great Food, Good Wifi and 130 SingleMalts.
We had a great time.

If you our visiting Elgin or the speyside area i would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank eppe_heldal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laichmoray-hote... E, Manager at Laichmoray Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Speyside and your stay with us.
Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Laichmoray Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

A lovely evening a excellent meal very pleasant and helpful staff in the garden room followed by drinks in the comfortable well stocked bar .the cocktails were a great end to a lovely evening .the champagne was excellent and gave a sparkle to the start of the evening

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank WOOdlands12231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laichmoray-hote... E, Manager at Laichmoray Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to post your comments
We are delighted you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to your next vist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The staff were very pleasant and so on that basis alone I can recommend the hotel. However, the rooms remind one of student accommodation. The beds were not very comfortable and the noise from people going up and down the corridor, opening and closing doors made a sleep in impossible :-(. Twin room cost £88 which is probably fair enough. I didn't try dinner or breakfast and so I cannot comment on the food offering.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank VeitchB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Parking slightly limited, but ample around the corner. The Reception staff were very polite and helpful. The room was nice and clean although i thought the en suite was a bit narrow. WiFi reception was excellent. The restaurant offered an superb choice and very reasonable in price with large helpings.
All in all this is a very nice place to base yourself. I will be back..

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalkyPortSeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, the food was great, the garden was lovely, the staff very nice, hotel was very nice the room adequate the bed was a bit hard for me and the bathroom had no shower, other than that we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silversurfe62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have just spent two very pleasant nights at the Laichmoray. The room was faultless, it appeared to have recently been decorated. It was spacious and spotless...the shower was superb!
Ate dinner in the garden room both nights, the food was delicious and competitively priced, service was attentive but not intrusive. My husband reports that the cooked breakfasts were great too.
Overall an excellent stay and we hope to be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeeJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Great food in a great location. Friendly staff and a nice relaxing atmosphere. Very reasonable prices. I would recommend the Laichmoray for events or just a meal out. I have been to several functions there and enjoyed every one.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gazritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
1.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
0.7 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
#5 of 7 in Elgin
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mansefield Hotel
12.6 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laichmoray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laichmoray Hotel

Address: Laichmoray Hotel Maisondieu Road, Elgin IV30 1QR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elgin
#5 Business Hotel in Elgin
#5 Family Hotel in Elgin
Price Range: £80 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laichmoray Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laichmoray Hotel started its life as the Great Northern Station Hotel and the Victorian building has been tastefully and continually upgraded without losing any of its character. Warmth of atmosphere is the priority of the day at the Laichmoray for business guests and those wishing to relax and discover Moray alike. We offer personal attention and a professional service second to none. The hotel has 34 bedrooms which are individually tyled, ranging from single rooms, double rooms, adjoining family accommodation to our superior doubles. Whether it's a romantic escape, family weekend getaway or a quick business stop over, we can accommodate you. All bedrooms are equipped with Tea and Coffee making facilities, complementary toiletries, telephone, hairdryer and a flat screen television with a wide range of digital channels. In the Garden Room conservatory and Restaurant, our menus offer traditional favourites alongside modern classics, cooked to order, using only the best local produce. Our comfortable lounge is ideal for morning coffees and lunchtime snacks. Relax in the evening with a glass of wine from our extensive list or one of our 130 malt whiskies. Our banqueting suite, the Maisondieu Suite, is the perfect venue for weddings, family celebrations and dinner dances. The unique split level design allows us to serve your wedding meal on the upper level and the lounge area and dance floor are available to your guests prior to and immediately after their meal. Here at the Laichmoray we have wide experience in providing quality service for large or small conferences and meetings, we will be happy to discuss your individual requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Laichmoray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laichmoray Hotel Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing