We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Thegoff
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom

What a lovely place

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Nov 2020
I spent a while at the Laichmoray on Wednesday this week drinking tea and looking wistfully at the large range of whisky behind the bar, rather wishing I was staying the night, so I could do some research into, well, whisky. All the while my liver was telling me that it was a good thing I had a long drive home from Elgin, and drive home I did. But the staff were all very congenial and it was a lovely place to be and so I plan to come down and visit with the wife some time and then we can sample the fare. I am conscious that everyone involved with hotels such as Laichmoray (owners and employees alike as well as suppliers) are feeling the side effects of covid right now. But keep the quality, as you are doing, and the future is still bright. See you soon I hope.
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£150
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £135
  • Tripadvisor
    £135
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Laichmoray Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Street View of Hotel
£165
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £160
  • Vio.com
0.4 miles from Laichmoray Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£47
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
  • Algotels
0.8 miles from Laichmoray Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
st michaels guesthouse
£139
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £139
  • eDreams
    £139
0.4 miles from Laichmoray Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£85
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £85
0.5 miles from Laichmoray Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£115
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    £98
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Laichmoray Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £158
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from Laichmoray Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £99
  • Hotels.com
0.0 miles from Laichmoray Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
4.0 miles from Laichmoray Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Elgin
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
267
145
46
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
267
145
46
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room cocktail bar amazing hotel would highly recommend this hotel first class stayed here for one night reception staff comfy bed plenty of parking an overnight stay evening meal high standard business trip breakfast was excellent town centre steak warm welcome
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2020 via mobile

Very nice place to stay, fantastic area,great staff very professional at their job. Good clean rooms, lovely food and beverages. Lovely place Elgin there's a few good pubs in town, will go back there definitely.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank AGI697
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

So glad we chose to visit this lovely hotel again. Telephoned directly which is always a good idea as you can request room size, advice on menu and any specific requirements. The receptionist was very helpful, nothing was a problem. On arrival check in was efficient and noted that all covid ‘19 condition were strictly in place. Breakfast choices cleverly devised and delicious. Our requested room was absolutely spotless. The weather was amazing on our trip and the popular beer garden was extremely busy. The staff were very professional and attentive making sure that my family and I eventually had a table in the garden after a short wait. To recap the staff were always smiling, happy to help, accommodation spotless and delicious food .... a rarely well run hotel.. amazing Staff...Well done we will highly recommend and return soon.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank tttooogggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2020

Stayed here for 2 nights, and our room was tiny. Not even sure it was a double bed as it was tiny and overly soft and didn't sleep well The room had no AC and the only source of cool air was the window which isn't bad until 6am and the kitchen fires up and being in close proximity to the ventilation made it loud and unable to have the window open.

The bathroom was tiny and barely any space in the shower to get out (I'm 6'1 and broad).

The breakfast and staff were good but they need to sort out the rooms with some ac, update the beds. The premier Inn a few minutes away would have been more comfortable.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2020

At short notice this hotel accommodated us for one night in a lovely double room. Very clean and comfortable, decor of high quality. Both dinner and breakfast could not be faulted and this is definitely one we will book again if in the area on the strength of the food alone. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Very reasonable rates.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2020 via mobile

This review is based on delight at the the Laichmoray opening again for takeaway food. Tonight will be our third “Laichaway” in as many weeks and it cannot be faulted. Great to see a local business doing all it can to support the community and help us feel more normal as a result. Thanks to Norma and all the staff for their hard work and great organisation 👍🏼

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 13andylees
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews