We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worse food ever”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Emperor Chinese & Thai Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 77 Restaurants in Elgin
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
“worse food ever”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

not impress with food. I love chinese food if you like chinese food dont order from them. it dry rubbish i dont no how there even still open sell food like that wast of money

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank prentice p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    2
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Dont go by the look outside THE FOODS EXCELLENT !!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Dont go by the outside look the pink will put you off!!This restaurant has always been a favourite with all the guys from work. The food is freshly prepared and cooked to order, even for the buffet. We certainly recommend sitting in and working through the courses. The Chinese beer is a must!Good choice on the menu fresh cooked and hot

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcus1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Closest thing to non-westernised Chinese food”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This restaurant has always been a favourite with our family. The food is freshly prepared and cooked to order, even for the buffet. We certainly recommend sitting in and working through the courses. The Chinese tea is a must!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PistachioIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Well-cooked delicious Chinese and Thai food”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I don't understand the poor reviews from others as I have always found the food in the Emperor to be excellent. The service is variable but always polite, not always as helpful as they could be but food is served piping hot and with minimal delay. The lunchtime buffet is especially good value - not the usual kind of buffet with a small selection of pre-cooked food being kept warm on hot plates but everything is cooked to order. You certainly should not leave this restaurant feeling hungry.
The prices have risen over the years but still represent good value overall.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moraybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not an enjoyable experience!”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I decided to give this place a go after reading several positive reviews on trip advisor. Sadly I was very disappointed and most of the bad reviews sum it up perfectly. The staff seem like they are in a constant rush with no time for pleasantries. My large soft drink came with an iceberg full of ice, 4 mouthfuls at best, felt like a bit of a ploy here.
The main meal kung po chicken did seem freshly Cooked and hot, however it was tasteless. £10 for the meal which didn't include rice.
I ordered ice cream which tasted vile, fairly sure it was a supermarket cheap range or something similar.
Overall poor service, tasteless poor food, over priced and I didn't feel welcome, like previous posts have mentioned, seems it is a tasks to get my money from me as quick as possible.
Would advise not going !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honest_Critic4205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Emperor Chinese & Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Emperor Chinese & Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing