We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok ”

Royal Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 104 Restaurants in Elgin
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 19 December 2019 via mobile

Bit disappointed. Christmas Dinner very bland and nothing special at all. Other meals at our table were also just ok. Didn’t expect frozen chips in a restaurant.

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank iloveholidays47
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2019 via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon tea here for my birthday, my sister and I hugely enjoyed it, also had a birthday party here 3 years ago for 30 people was also excellent

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank Stnhair56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2019

Went here for a 21st treat for my daughter. The food was well prepared and presented and plentiful. A slight mixup with the steaks but otherwise an excellent meal

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2019 via mobile

We booked our table for 7.30pm we arrived on time were seated then just left for ages. A girl came and asked for our drinks order to which we replied we were ready for our food order too as we were all hungry. She replied i only take drinks orders not food. And then disappeared after not taking our drink order. Then someone from our group had to then go to the bar and ask for our drinks and food order to be taken. Eventually our drinks order was taken. Then we waited until someone else then came through cleared some tables and never took us on? We stopped her before she left with the plates. Then eventually someone came to the table to take our order. Our drinks took a while but eventually arrived. Our food arrived after. Which was beyond amazing. We had starters mains and some pwople had some pudding. I had the prawn starter which was amazing. Then the steak which was cooked to perfection. I then ordered a cocktail which wasn't nice at all. Was very disappointed. We then had to ask for our bill. Over all the food was out of this world but the service let it down massively. It wasn't busy at all and tbh it ruined our night a bit.
If the staff were better we would probably be back... but unfortunately we probably won't

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2019 via mobile

Lovely evening meal. You cannot fault the quality of food in this restaurant. Large portions too! Nice to see different choices than what you normally get at other restaurants. We both had the Chicken flatbread for our starters which was delicious followed by a steak and Chicken topped with haggis burger. Both very well presented. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Royal Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Royal Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.