We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A magical peaceful place you will want to return...”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of log cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of log cabin
Front of cabin with hot tub on the right View through the french windows facing south
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Front of log cabin
Front of cabin with hot tub on the right
View through the french windows facing south
Spacious lounge with high ceilings
Open plan dining area
Double bedroom with fitted double wardrobe
Twin room with window facing out into secluded garden
Bathroom with bath and overhead shower WC and wash basin
view from hot tub
View of the hot tub
rear garden
Springburn Loch
Walk around Springburn loch
View of the cabin from the loch
Quester and Paddy (horses) and Hamish the donkey
Walk in Autumn
Walk in spring
Quiet, clean, safe beach at Hopeman, 10 miles from the cabin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fmor2589
1 review
“A magical peaceful place you will want to return to”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at Sringburn kestrel log cabin. My children were given the choice this year to go abroad or return to Scotland and stay at Springburn.
Without hesitation they wanted to stay here again.
Shiela and Sandy are lovely friendly hosts who are so welcoming.
The location is so pretty and peaceful.
The hot tub has been a great addition, and is undercover . We liked the extras provided for it including a lovely fluffy towelling rope and white spa slippers.
The tea tray with shiela`s homemade bakes were also greatly enjoyed.
Would recommend going to the Cairngorms - so beautiful. Do not hesitate, let springburn cast a spell on you !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Going home.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
Thank you for posting such a lovely review about your second holiday with us.
We enjoyed catching up with you again and are glad that you enjoyed the hot tub!
Many thanks
Sandy and Sheila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJBurnett
Fife, United Kingdom
1 review
“Chilled & Relaxed”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Had a great time just chilling out and relaxing, so peaceful and the hot tub is a fab feature! Dog enjoyed all the walks with a couple of areas about the site to choose from. The weather was great, when we had a query about sun loungers these were provided and Sheila was very helpful and other people on site were friendly. The TV was small but didnt make a difference to us as we were there to enjoy the peace and quiet and to relax. They have made a great job of making the cabin feel cosy and homely ... we will defo be back! :-)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay in the kestrel cabin. We enjoyed having you and hopefully we will maybe see you again soon.
Sandy and Sheila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solarscot...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NOT 4 stars!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Well, the 'Kestrel' log cabin has 4 stars from the Scottish tourism board..... But how?!?! It's full of bugs, filthy walls, you need to feed the meter pound coins to keep the electric on, no wifi, no phone, a TV the size of A4 paper, no BBQ, an old rotten picnic bench, no dishwasher, walls so thin you can hear the kids breathe next door.... So what does it have? A hot tub. If you are looking to get away from it all and be "unconnected" and you don't have kids, then this is fine for you,(as long as you have a car) but 4 star it ain't!

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post you most recent review, allowing me to respond to your comments. I'm sure you will appreciate that these have taken me completely by surprise, being that we had a chat during your stay and there was no mention of the issues then, or when you said goodbye on your departure.
Since being registered with Visitscotland since 2004 I have held and maintained 4 stars for the kestrel cabin. This involves a different Quality and Tourist advisor assessing the cabin annually. To achieve an award of 4 stars the score for "cleanliness" must be at least 80%. ( You may wish to view Visitscotland's grading criteria online.)
At no point has the cabin ever been advertised as having wifi, telephone,dishwasher or widescreen TV nor does it say electricity is included. Fifteen £1 coins were in the meter on your departure which averaged £2.14 per day for a family of 4 for heating, lighting, cooking and hot tub.
The BBQ was indeed missing - it had been removed for cleaning and, by mistake, had not been returned to the cabin. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused by this oversight and as mentioned on arrival, I am always available to deal with any problem such as this.
The interior walls are constructed of 150mm solid timber which provides more sound proofing than any conventional modern hollow construction i.e 95mm timber partition and cladding with 2 sheets 12mm plasterboard.
We are a Family run business with over 25 years experience aiming to go the extra mile for all our visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Serene, relaxing and cosy home away from home.”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just returned from another wonderful week spent in Kestrel cabin. It is our third visit to Kestrel and our sixth to Springburn. Shelia has literally thought of everything you will need whilst not at home; right down to the tea, coffee and refreshments 'welcome' tray upon arrival. The surroundings are beautiful and calming. On our first two visits we saw deer through the bathroom and kitchen windows every morning and this visit we had a baby Buzzard perched feet away on our garden fence. If you are looking for peace and quiet and a fantastic home base to explore the wonderful Moray coast and surrounding areas I very highly recommend this cabin (Buzzard and Osprey cabins too). You will not be disappointed!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin, its like home away from home.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2013
Many thanks for writing such lovely comments about your 6th holiday at the cabins.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sheila and Sandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent holiday home, warm welcome guaranteed, peaceful”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Together with my husband and 2 friends, we have stayed at "Kestrel" several times. Sheila always leaves a welcome tray of tea and cake, flowers on the table, plus whisky minatures. Everything is so welcoming and like a home from home, only this one has virtually no traffic noise,no neighbours, just peace and quiet. We have already provisionally booked for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cannot pick out anything, just love going there.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
Hi
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such lovely comments about your stay in the kestrel cabin. Look forward to your 12th visit next year.
Thanks again Sheila and Sandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigtruck1...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For peace and quiet it cant be beaten”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I plus our 2 sons went to this cabin in July , We loved the peace and quiet and the dog friendly garden for our 6 month old sheltie pup. The owners were so friendly and helpful even after a few mishaps. I would encourage anybody who want a relaxing holiday to come here but also if need be have Elgin only a few miles away for things to do. I will return to this property sometime soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2013
Thank you for booking your first holiday at the Kestrel cabin. We are glad that you had a relaxing time and hopefully we will maybe see you again.
Sheila and Sandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing