We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value restaurant.”
Review of xoriatiki Elgin United Kingdom - CLOSED

xoriatiki Elgin United Kingdom
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good value restaurant.”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Three of us went there last Saturday evening at about nine. We needn't have booked because apart from a couple at another table, it was very quiet.
We ordered a Greek beer for myself, and a bottle of the house rose' for my two ladyfriends. ( the wife and her mate) We ordered the garlic bread and olives for a starter to share, and for mains we had mezedes for two + pork gyros for one. When it arrived we were quite taken aback at the amount of food on the table. It was very nice, mostly nicely cooked chicken, beef, pork and lamb, and with very nice, fresh salad. We weren't too keen on the cold pitta bread or the mountain of frozen fries but perhaps this is how they do it in Greece (never been)

In summary this was a nice, well prepared meal for three with wine and beer for under £45.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lunchtime Buffet”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Regularly visit Xoriatiki for their buffet lunch menu when i'm in Elgin. Fabulous value, food is good, service can be a little slow when clearing plates from table etc but staff always pleasant.

Will continue to visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OhDannyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morayshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous unexpected selection of mezze and main”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We ate here last saturday and unknown to us there was a large number of people in for a 40th birthday party therefore a selection of hot and cold buffet style dishes were offered. We were seated at side room of restaurant due to size of birthday party in main restaurant and although a bit excluded we were made very welcome and staff were very attentive. Noodle soup to start with various other dishes on offer. Chef then offered a feast of duck,lamb,pork,kebabs and again the choices were fab,well seasoned and good quality. Dessert was laid out also but too full for them. A rare treat and if you went with a party of 10 and up the buffet would be a great option. Definately be back to sample more. A wee gem and well worth trying. Tbe only small thing would be to have some music and lower the lights a wee bit to enhance ambience but great overall!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlewhitepaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Had an evening meal, which was amazing. The portions were huge and the food excellent - well underpriced for its quality. The wine was also great value for money. The staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. The place was very quiet for a Saturday night (maybe it was because we dined early). I hope that many more people will visit and appreciate the gorgeous Greek food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bmerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Really good food, at a very reasonable price, but make sure you are really hungry”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have tried the lunch buffet previously and were very impressed and this time we tried it for dinner. The food was absolutely excellent . The service was relaxed and our 2 course dinner, the main course portions were so ginormous that there was no room for dessert, took nearly 2 hours but we were in no hurry. The starter portions were of very reasonable proportions and we all chose different options and were all impressed. When the main courses arrived we wished we had starved ourselves for a couple of days beforehand. The food tasted really good but we were put off a bit by the amount of food.
The total bill for 4 two course dinners with a bottle of house wine was less than £70, which we all agreed was extremely good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank varisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed xoriatiki Elgin United Kingdom also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing