We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much nicer than a hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southbank Guest House
Ranked #8 of 23 Elgin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The location could not be better, It's only a 3 minute walk to the city center. The building is old but charming, the rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is excellent with a lot of choice. Parking is no problem and free.
We liked Elgin much better than Inverness, it's not touristy at all and the people are very friendly (like almost everywhere in Scotland).
We would stay here again, hopefully soon.
Thanks Isabelle.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VakantieVakantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

We booked a room for the weekend, we lived several years in elgin, knowing which hotels are up around ,without much thought we booked the room in Southbank Guest House the breakfast wonderful, kind and friendly atmosphere .very clean in rooms you can see the money invested in this hotel ,Now we live in Manchester and certainly as we will be in Elgin, we will stay in this wonderful hotel again.

Room Tip: room 1A very nice and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angelika r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights while visiting for a family 90th Birthday. We had a twin room in the annexe and it was nice and quiet. The room was very clean and comfortable with one of the best showers we had come across in a B & B and the Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cereals, juice etc. The full scottish breakfast was extremely good and freshly made to order. The staff were friendly and efficient. The guest house is is a great position in the town and only minutes away from the main High Street and big stores like Asda etc.
Elgin is very central to the Whisky trail, the mountains and the coast.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Southbank Guesthouse to anyone thinking of staying in Elgin

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights. I booked two rooms and was given a choice of which rooms we would like. The owners were very friendly and attentive. The rooms were very clean and had the comfiest beds we've ever had in a guesthouse. Breakfast was excellent. Choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt and of course the full scottish breakfast. The food was excellent as was the service from the staff. We booked this at short notice and we were not disappointed. We would have no hesitation recommending Southbank and would definitely return. Thank you for your hospitality.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights and from day one the staff has been excellent. This was by far the best Guesthouse we stayed at during our two week trip. Next to the outstanding service the rooms were great as well. They were clean and you can just see great care has been put in this place from day to day! Location is good to right at the center all mayor shops are within walking distance. So simply put if I ever come back to this part of Scotland this is the place I would stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jeroen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Booked to stay 3 nights in the family room with husband and 2 kids, lovely room. We needed a place to rest on a whirl wind tour of the Scottish highlands and Isobel and her team gave us a lovely warm welcome. A lovely fresh cooked veggie breakfast was served to us every morning in the comfortable dining area. Parking was easily available.

Good location for what we wanted to do:
Lock Ness
Dolphin watching on the Moray Firth
Horse riding - Cramloch Farm (2 miles from Elgin)
Ben Nevis - Bit of a drive but great not to be missed visitor attraction

We were going to go to Lossiemoth but ran out of time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fauzia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southbankelgin, Owner at Southbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

thank you for your nice review,isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 5 nights, was very nice, only 2 mins from town center and train station is a very short walking distance away, breakfast was really good, alot of choice, all staff were very friendly, good atmosphere, would defo recommend!! A**

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elgin hotels
0.2 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
302 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Pines Guest House
The Pines Guest House
#5 of 23 in Elgin
98 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Lodge Elgin
The Lodge Elgin
#6 of 23 in Elgin
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbank Guest House

Address: 36 Academy Street | Moray, Elgin IV30 1LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range: £67 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southbank Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house, close to all amenities (walking distance) all unsuited shower rooms, tv, coffee, tea making facility, breakfast included in price. we have complimentary Wi-Fi in the annex and main house in all bedrooms, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southbank Guest House Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing