We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southbank Guest House
Ranked #5 of 23 Elgin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I have now stayed at this guest house four times.
Always a great welcome and the staff are really nice.
The owner is lovely and always has time for you.
Great breakfasts, second to none.
Highly recommended.
The rooms are always clean and adequate.
Nicely situated for the centre of Elgin and a few hundred yards from the railway station and main road routes.

Room Tip: Room 1, very spacious, one double and two single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rddbranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Nice place to stay for visiting the surroundings. Comfortable and clean room. New and big bathroom. Private parking. Good and typical breakfast. Great location in the center of Elgin. The owner was very kind and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfredo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Arrived later in evening and was asked if I would like to have my breakfast a little later than the advertised hours! Guest house has just been refurbished and refurnished. Absolutely immaculate. Very central yet in quiet street. Plenty of free private parking. Lovely breakfast including fresh fruits, cereals, cooked breakfast choices. Would highly recommend. :)

Room Tip: Stayed in room no 5. Brand new beds, furniture and shower room/toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Academy Street is a perfect location for the town centre. Room was clean but was absolutely freezing as heating set centrally. Came in from a night out and the heating still wasnt on so didnt sleep very well as I was cold. Also the kettle in the room kept tripping, went to the foyer and rang bell twice but no answer so had to go into town to get a hot drink. This is the only bed and breakfast I have stayed in where there was no shower gel/shampoo. Didnt really have breakfast as the waitress got my egg order wrong and by this time my husband was half way through his so her offer to change it was declined as i was already sat watching him eat his, and the sausage was of such poor quality i couldnt eat that either. Therefore for what you got in relation to a bed and a bit of breakfast £70 was quite expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southbankelgin, Owner at Southbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

hi, sorry you were disappointed, we had just had a new heating system in stalled in the house and we have been having problems with the timing settings but its all sorted now, if you had looked in your cupboard you would of found a spare heater! and you could of used it, sorry about the kettle, these things happen, we have just spent £50,000 refurbishing the guest house and I think you should of given us full marks for that alone and the rooms are spotless and so clean, i remember you sulking at the dinning room table,£70 is not expensive next time you stay in Elgin try a hotel , you will get a buffet pre cooked breakfast, and some where between £90 to £195 a night , there will be a night porter, but then we are only a bed and breakfast, please do not book with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The location could not be better, It's only a 3 minute walk to the city center. The building is old but charming, the rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is excellent with a lot of choice. Parking is no problem and free.
We liked Elgin much better than Inverness, it's not touristy at all and the people are very friendly (like almost everywhere in Scotland).
We would stay here again, hopefully soon.
Thanks Isabelle.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VakantieVakantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We booked a room for the weekend, we lived several years in elgin, knowing which hotels are up around ,without much thought we booked the room in Southbank Guest House the breakfast wonderful, kind and friendly atmosphere .very clean in rooms you can see the money invested in this hotel ,Now we live in Manchester and certainly as we will be in Elgin, we will stay in this wonderful hotel again.

Room Tip: room 1A very nice and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angelika r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights while visiting for a family 90th Birthday. We had a twin room in the annexe and it was nice and quiet. The room was very clean and comfortable with one of the best showers we had come across in a B & B and the Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cereals, juice etc. The full scottish breakfast was extremely good and freshly made to order. The staff were friendly and efficient. The guest house is is a great position in the town and only minutes away from the main High Street and big stores like Asda etc.
Elgin is very central to the Whisky trail, the mountains and the coast.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Southbank Guesthouse to anyone thinking of staying in Elgin

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.2 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
9.1 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge Elgin
The Lodge Elgin
#7 of 23 in Elgin
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#3 of 23 in Elgin
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbank Guest House

Address: 36 Academy Street | Moray, Elgin IV30 1LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range: £68 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southbank Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house, close to all amenities (walking distance) all unsuited shower rooms, tv, coffee, tea making facility, breakfast included in price. we have complimentary Wi-Fi in the annex and main house in all bedrooms, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Southbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southbank Guest House Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing