We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the package...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the package...”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Premier Inn in Elgin for one night on our way from Aberdeen to Mallaig. The hotel is very easy to find - it's on the A96 just as you're coming in to Elgin. As they say in their advertising, "A good night's sleep at a good price."

While not our favourite of all the Premier Inns where we've stayed, the Elgin hotel was reasonably priced, clean, comfortable, and convenient, which is really all that you need when you're in transit from point A to point B.

Sammy, the young lady at reception, was very helpful in finding us a restaurant in town. As we were in the mood for Indian, she recommended the Akash Tandoori, which turned out to be exactly what we were looking for. The food was delicious, and very reasonably priced. We took our supper back to the hotel, and had our meal while watching the large flat screen television in the room. Later, we walked next door to the Scottish restaurant (McDonald's) for ice cream.

While we were talking to Sammy, we noticed the large mural of Elgin Cathedral behind the desk. We went by the Cathedral on our way in to town (it was closed by then), and were so impressed that we spent several hours there the following day.

The Elgin Premier Inn is very close to the Cathedral, and only a few miles from the Moray coast. Findhorn is nearby, as well. We actually spent so much time in Elgin that we didn't arrive in Mallaig until 9 p.m.

The car park at the Elgin Premier Inn is smack dab in the middle of an industrial site, so you may end up parking with the lorries, especially if you arrive late in the day. We didn't take breakfast at the hotel, so we can't attest to its quality or quantity. One minor quibble - there appeared to be no way to turn right out of the car park on to the A96, so we had to turn left and make a u-turn at the roundabout. A minor inconvenience.

We've noticed that the desk staff at all of the Premier Inns where we've stayed are exceedingly friendly and helpful. Sammy, of course, in the evening, and Demi, in the morning, are a credit to the hotel. We just wish that staff in some of the more traditional hotels could learn from their examples.

We really enjoyed this hotel, and shall gladly return. If it weren't for our time constraints, we would have stayed longer

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runrig_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyElgin, Manager at Premier Inn Elgin Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Runrig_fan,

Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay with us - we love hearing feedback from our guests!

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us; Premier Inn offer a great nights' sleep in comfy beds, clean rooms with friendly staff - and I'm glad that we were able to provide this for you. I have passed on your very kind comments to Sammy and the rest of the team, and they are very happy to hear that they helped to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable!
We are very lucky to have such a rich historical background, with our Cathedral and the nearby palace of Spynie. There are also lots of local attractions like the Malt Whisky Trail, and the Cairngorm mountain range is only an hours drive away.

We would love to welcome you back to Elgin, and again thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review!

Kind regards,

Demi - Premier Inn, Elgin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    195
    59
    17
    6
See reviews for
149
196
29
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was our first experience at a Premier Inn and we where really satisfied. it is a cheap hotel chain but for the price they provide a clean room with the necessary amenities. It is excellent for the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyElgin, Manager at Premier Inn Elgin Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Monique N,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel at Elgin - I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us!
Premier Inn strive to offer a world-class service to our guests, and our aim is to ensure every guest has a great nights' sleep in our comfy beds, clean rooms with friendly and professional service from our teams. I have passed on your kind comments to our team as they love hearing that they have made guests feel at home and enjoy their time away from home!

Thank you again for taking the time to review us, and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the near future!

Kind regards,

Demi - Premier Inn, Elgin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

very good location to stay, very near to 24 hour mcdonalds restaurants and 5 minutes walk to KFC. a small nice elgin city to visit and 30 minutes drive to inverness. I highly recommend anyone to visit this lovely hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shohel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyElgin, Manager at Premier Inn Elgin Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Shohel M,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us at the Premier Inn, Elgin.

I'm glad to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us - I have passed on your kind comments to our team as they love hearing from our guests. We are lucky to be situated in the heart of Moray, with close distances to all the local attractions and the world famous Malt Whisky Trail - and also ideal for travelling between Inverness and Aberdeen if you're looking for the big city-life!

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future, and again thank you for your lovely review!

Kind regards,

Demi - Premier Inn, Elgin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

As always the staff were amazing – so friendly, efficient and professional. The room was spacious, very clean although a bit tired, especially the bathroom. And lots of car parking.

What was wrong then? Well this is the old style Premier Inn without its own lounge, bar or restaurant so you were dependant on a trudge next door to “gastro-pub”. May have been ok for an evening meal as lights would be dimmed but in harsh light of morning it was grubby, nay, dirty, floors not swept and you could have had a small allotment on the window ledges – left over crumbs, coffee and beer stains.

Biggest problem though was that it is on an industrial estate so you are surrounded by a car park full of works vans and that should have been a warning. It is obviously used a lot by contractors. Nothing wrong with that if you are on business yourself but for a holiday stay a bit “transport café” type breakfast.

The tables were pulled together to accommodate groups of 6 to 8 workers in grubby work gear and hi-vis with lots of kit bags and hold-alls laying around blocking other tables Not the hotels fault I know and certainly the guys were ok – although language perhaps a bit ripe for some – but it was not relaxing. There were not enough staff to then clear up so you ate your breakfast surrounded by a sea of dirty plates and left-over sausages! And managers – we all now know what breakfasts are like in hotels – why do you insist your staff still have to ask “Have you eaten in a …. before” – it’s not that difficult a concept to grasp.

Another slightly annoying feature of Premier Inns is the giant wording on signs saying “FREE WI-FI|” and then the smaller print “for 30 minutes”. A plain con.

Come-on Premier Inn, you were beginning to compete with Holiday Inn Express etc and make holidaying in the UK pleasant and affordable again - don’t lose it.

The newer Premier Inns with their own facilities are great but I can’t recommend this place for couples or families, cheap it may be - I guess that's why there were so many workmen and contractors - but not a pleasant relaxing experience if on holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustyplough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyElgin, Manager at Premier Inn Elgin Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Rustyplough,

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us at Elgin; we love hearing from our guests and feedback is always appreciated!

I'm glad to hear that our team helped to make your stay enjoyable; I have passed on your kind comments to the team and they are very glad they helped you feel welcome and comfortable during your stay.

I apologise that you did not find the experience in the Brewers Fayre as pleasant - I have passed on your feedback to the management team for the restaurant who will look into improving on their service in the restaurant.
The 'Free WiFi' sign that is displayed on the outside of the Brewers Fayre is for the Brewers Fayre, not the Premier Inn, as our restaurant offers free WiFi to guests and the Premier Inn is 30 minutes free, so I'm sorry that this was a bit confusing.
Our hotel is a popular stop off point for business guests, who often have trucks or lorries which they can park in our car park as the local area doesn't have a designated area for lorries and vans. We have a very large car parking area, which includes the Brewers Fayre section, and guests are more than welcome to park in either section.

Thank you for taking time to leave us your feedback, and if you'd like to discuss further any queries please feel free to contact us on 01343 610759 or via elgin.pi@premierinn.com.

Kind regards,

Demi - Premier Inn, Elgin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spean Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Due to work commitments my husband and i are trying to grab the odd couple of nights away to spend quality time together. Of late i have been disappointed with the hotels we have stayed in i like 4 star hotels and dont mind paying the money for a quality stay but not having had the 4 star stays id hoped for i decided to book a premier inn tends to be what it says on the can and i wasnt disappointed good sized room big comfy bed and the usual tv n beverage facillities the room was clean even the skirting boards have been cleaned the room was fresh and well maintained. The only complaint we had was the NOISEY seagulls that screatched from 4am nothing can be done about that certainly cant blame anyone for that just cldnt get long lay but wouldnt stop me from using premier inn again just maybe not the one in Elgin

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyElgin, Manager at Premier Inn Elgin Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear suzie p,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience with us at the Premier Inn, Elgin.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - we do our best to ensure you have a great sleep in a comfy bed, clean room with friendly service, and I'm happy to hear that we delivered this for you and your husband!

I can only apologise about the seagull noise; it has been a local issue for a while now and there are calls for the local authority to try and action a plan about the influx of seagulls coming further mainland. We try our best to minimise the issue at site by making sure our car park is litterpicked regularly, bins are not overflowing and fully closed and our delivery bay is kept clean and tidy, but sometimes the pesky seagulls do come back in the summertime, and I apologise that they disturbed your sleep during your stay.

If you'd like to discuss your feedback, please don't hesitate to call us on 01343 610759 or email elgin.pi@premierinn.com, and I'd like to thank you again for your feedback - it is much appreciated and we always love hearing from our guests.

Kind regards,

Demi - Premier Inn, Elgin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Excellent overnight en-route to Fort George Celebration of the Centuries event. Premier Inn offers fantastic value for money for a family room for 4 and is always spotless. the rooms in this hotel are newer, very comfy, staff very friendly too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyElgin, Manager at Premier Inn Elgin Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Kerrie F,

Thank you for writing a lovely review of your stay with us at the Premier Inn, Elgin. We always aim to provide a world class service to our guests, and I'm sure our team will be very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future!

Kind regards,

Demi - Premier Inn, Elgin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

compared to Travelodge this hotel is over priced , the shower / bath is an accident waiting to happen the bath is very slippery and no hand/grab rails insight , the bed was terrible every movement and you could hear the springs the only thing this hotel had over Travelodge was an hair dryer , not really worth the £38 per night more than the Travelodge but unfortunately there was no Travelodge in Elgin and the prices in the Brewers Fair next door were a bit too much although the food was ok

Room Tip: unfortunately as I said before this is the only " budget " hotel in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 26bigjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyElgin, Manager at Premier Inn Elgin Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear 26bigjohn,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Premier Inn, Elgin.

I'm sorry to hear that you did not find your stay was value for the money you spent. We do have our best deals available online at our website, www.premierinn.com , and the further you book in advance the cheaper the rates will be.
Our baths are coated in an anti-slip coating, but in the event that a guest does find the baths rather slippy we do offer bathmats behind the reception desk for guests who wish to use them. If you stay with us in the future, you can give us a call with your reservation number and we can place a bath mat into your bathroom before you arrive.

If you wish to discuss your feedback further please do not hesitate to email us on elgin.pi@premerinn.com or give us a call on 01343 610759.

Kind regards,

Demi - Premier Inn, Elgin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
2.2 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
0.8 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
282 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
131 reviews
5.1 mi away
Stotfield Hotel
Stotfield Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lossiemouth
437 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
#5 of 7 in Elgin
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Elgin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Elgin Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
Address: 15 Linkwood Way, Elgin IV30 1HY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Elgin
#1 Family Hotel in Elgin
#2 Business Hotel in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Elgin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Scottish adventure at Premier Inn Hotel Elgin, just a short drive from the epic Highlands and legendary Loch Ness. Whether you're headed for the Cairngorms or business and leisure destinations in Elgin and Aberdeen, you'll find us a great place to rest. Take time out to reflect in Elgin's Biblical Gardens. Discover the impressive ruins of Elgin Cathedral. Or seek out the 'Water of Life' on the world-famous Malt Whisky Trail. And when you're ready to relax, return for a bite to eat in our tasty restaurant and a great night's sleep in your extra-comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Elgin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel Elgin
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing