We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff. Needs curtains.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mansefield Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at the Mansefield at the end of June for five nights for a training course. The hotel itself is perfectly situated in Elgin and has plenty of local amenities nearby to suit everybody. The staff at the hotel are friendly and polite and more than willing to help. I highly rate them.
I stayed in the Clark Suite (which initially was a nice surprise). The room itself was lovely; perfectly comfy bed, nice sitting area, a rowing machine (?) and an upstairs area with a big screen and projector. I didn't make use of the projector as I didn't have any dvd's with me to watch. It would be great if it was plugged into the TV aerial so you could watch tennis. football,etc. My only bugbear with the room was the blinds. There were at least nine windows in the room and each of them had a blind in between two window. Therefore every night I had to open the inner windows to shut each of the binds individually. Not very practical. The blinds themselves are a bit of a waste of time in high summer in northern scotland where the sun sets late and gets up early. They don't exactly block out much light so as soon asthe sun was up so was I. It made for a very tiring week that could easily be solved by hanging some curtains.

In terms of the other facilities at the hotel. Breakfast was lovely and again served by friendly staff. The conference area, where we had our training sessions, is a bit dated, but we were kept well plied with coffee, tea and biscuits.

Overall it was a pleasant stay which would've been made much better if there had been curtains.

Room Tip: If you like a dark room, don't stay in the Clark Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcb7339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We did not stay at this hotel but did walk there one evening for dinner. The meal was well done, the staff were helpful and the cost was reasonable. Their selection of whiskeys was very good as well. I would recommend this place for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mansfjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding at The Mansefield hotel in February of this year and it couldn't of been a more perfect day.

From planning to the big day and even afterwards the staff couldn't of been kinder and more attentive. Every little request was carried out exactly how I wanted (even better infact) and nothing I asked was ever a problem.

Ross made sure that everything on the day went without a glitch, and even upgrade our parents into the suites, even though the grooms parents were staying for 4 nights.

Our day was so relaxed and all our guests commented on how wonderful a day it was, from the hotel to the staff and food.

I would recommend everybody looking to have their perfect wedding day to pick the Mansefield.




Stayed: February 2014
Thank AlanaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Shoukd have realised there was a problem on checking in as receptionist was clearly disinterested and fed up. Rooms are well furnished however they were very hot and due to secondary glazing very difficult to get windows open also noise from the function suite is an issue. When trying to have a constructive discussion with the receptionist and Ross on checking out they were exceedingly abrasive and rude. Very disappointing end to a wonderful weekend with friends.

Room Tip: Make sure you are positioned as far away from function room if staying over a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank scanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stay in this hotel for a business trip of 1 week.....everything was ok: the staff, the food and also the counter of the bar was very well equipped with all the kind of scottish whisky :-) Good the cleaning of the room, toilet and living room. If you will be there I suggest to make a trip till the north coast (Burghead, Hopeman, Lossiemouth)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metamorfic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have stayed here many times over a number of years and have never been disappointed. The staff are very relaxed, efficient and friendly. The accomodation is beautifully decorated and comfortable with everything required in the room. The food is excellent and the gantry is a whisky lovers paradise. It is a really relaxing and calm place to spend a few days and to recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank fhmm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just came back from the most perfect stay at the Mansefield Hotel in Elgin. Planned to stay 2 nights but ended up staying 3. On arrival was welcomed by Tracey who could not of been more friendly and told us we had been upgraded to the Clark suite free of charge, what a stunning room, views to die for and a home cinema up a spiral stair case. The food is out of this world, and we have been round the world, service was excellent from Rosie and Joanne ( hopefully got all your names right) in all we could not fault this hotel, it is definitely deluxe. We would just like to thank all staff at the hotel for 3 very special days,thank you so much.

Room Tip: You must try the suite but think all rooms would be really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerryann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
9.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
1 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansefield Hotel

Address: 2 Mayne Road, Elgin IV30 1NY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range: £134 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansefield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mansefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansefield Hotel Elgin
The Mansefield Hotel Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing