We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal”
other travellers have booked this property
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800 Main room - so cosy!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800
Main room - so cosy!
The view from The Bothy garden looking North
Lossiemouth West Beach - not another soul in sight!
Spring Rhododendron
Kitchenette
The bathroom
With shower
View from kitchenette into main room
The Bothy's stunning view of the Mosstowie Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Peaandham...
1 review
“Ideal”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Perfect for a couple or small family.
Ideal for my Wife, our Husky and I whilst on the Speyside Kiltwalk.
We stayed for two nights and felt very at ease there. Lovely location, lovely welcome.
Would definitely stay there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and writing a lovely review. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt so at ease in The Bothy. It was lovely to meet you both and of course, Mila! And we look forward to seeing you all again. With kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASmith711
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spot on”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a 3 night stay at The Bothy near the end of August and enjoyed our stay immensely. The Bothy is perfect for a couple seeking a romantic Highland hideaway which was lucky as that was what we wanted. As other reviews indicate the basics, by way of tea, coffee and milk etc were all present and welcome after a long drive North.

The Bothy was warm and comfortable and the wee kitchen just big enough to make breakfast and in our case we used the oven to heat tapas bought from M&S on one evening.

We were made to feel very welcome by Fiona and she went beyond what you'd consider professional hospitality by posting us back a pair of shoes we had carelessly left in the wardrobe without seeking any recompense. Thanks so much for that, Fiona.

We had a great day out with Highland Caterham and a thoroughly enjoyable outing to Cawdor Castle whilst in the area. We will definitely be back and The Bothy will be at the top of a short list for a place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad that you enjoyed The Bothy and that you would choose to stay with us again. It was no trouble to send your shoes back, these things happen! It was lovely to meet you both and we look forward very much to welcoming you back! With kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmarj
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely wee hideaway”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Perfect little hideaway just a few minutes outside elgin. The room was cosy, and location perfectly silent! Will book again next time we are going tongue area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
I'm so glad you found it cosy and peaceful and that you would come and see us again. It was lovely to meet you both and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Private and peaceful... practically perfect!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A beautiful stone Bothy situated in a very private and peaceful garden. The owners were friendly and welcoming and not at all anxious or intrusive. The place was spotlessly clean and all basic requirements were provided for. It was very generous of the hosts to provide coffee, tea, milk, biscuits, ketchup, mayonnaise and dog towels! We will definitely be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and peacefulness
Liked least: The 2 armchairs were situated too far away from each other to feel close. But that's how the room was shaped.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you would come back and see us again! It was lovely to meet you both and of course your dogs. Thank you for your kind words. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rod c
1 review
“Superb!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a perfect 3 night stay at The Bothy. We were met by the owner, who is very warm and friendy, giving us advice on local area and places to visit. The Bothy itself is in such a peacefull and relaxing setting it was just what we were looking for, and furnished with everything we could have possibly needed. Ideal location for exploring with many places just a short drive away. We will definitely recomend this to friends and family. Fantastic!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
We.re so delighted that you would recommend us to friends & family and that you found it to be such a peaceful location. We hope to welcome you back in near the future. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

One room Bothy, attractively decorated and furnished, situated away from the main house for privacy. Great for a couple just wanting a base. Excellent location for touring around the Elgin, Lossiemouth area and Whisky Trail. There are some lovely forest walks to enjoy nearby without driving. Owner lives in adjacent house and is very helpful. All in all a very enjoyable stay. Would use The Bothy again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and privacy
Liked least: Small kitchen area, but adequate for couple staying a few days
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you all again. Many thanks, kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreaa66...
1 review
“Amazing !!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Me and my boyfriend have just came back from a 3 night stay and have had the most amazing time and could not ask for any better hosts. Very welcoming to is both and our dog max and Fiona let us now the best walks to go and also directions which were very useful and all round we had a very relaxing time .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, it was lovely to meet you both and of course Max! We look forward to seeing you all again. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing