We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wee gem”
other travellers have booked this property
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800 Main room - so cosy!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800
Main room - so cosy!
The view from The Bothy garden looking North
Lossiemouth West Beach - not another soul in sight!
Spring Rhododendron
Kitchenette
The bathroom
With shower
View from kitchenette into main room
The Bothy's stunning view of the Mosstowie Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
turktrace
coaltown of wemyss . fife
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A wee gem”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As above , a wee gem of a place !!
Loved it , 5minutes from Elgin and the area itself directly around this bothy is so gorgeous .
Everything in the bothy is at hand and available , Fiona was lovely and gave us a warm welcome.
The bed was so comfy and main room in bothy spacious and warm .
We will most certainly be back and use again . Only issue we had was that we didn't stay longer .
Loved it !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area and comfy bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
What a lovely review! Thank you! I'm delighted that you loved it and our location. I shall look forward very much to welcoming you both again, hopefully in the not too distant future! With kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
115tennen...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The "Bothy" is such a Peaceful place to stay....On our arrival Fiona made us feel very welcome.The cottage is lovely and cosy and very clean and comfortable, Especially the memory foam mattress on the bed . Lovely place to visit and plenty to do.
Anything about the area you need to find out about. nothing is to much trouble for Fiona ,She was more than happy to inform us .

Highly recommended and will be back again sometime.

Ps.Especially for the Pear tree .Yum Yum

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
Thank you for a lovely review. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed staying in our Bothy and that you found everything you needed, including the pears! You are always very welcome and I look forward to seeing you both again, perhaps with your dogs next time! Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnny277...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Nice small Bothy, Fiona the owner very friendly nice woman,give it a go but it is small but clean and peacefull

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. It was lovely to meet you and thank you for choosing to stay with us. However The Bothy is advertised as suitable for 2 adults and perhaps a small child so I would always advise against 3 adults as it would be a bit of a squeeze! Many thanks again & kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peaandham...
1 review
“Ideal”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Perfect for a couple or small family.
Ideal for my Wife, our Husky and I whilst on the Speyside Kiltwalk.
We stayed for two nights and felt very at ease there. Lovely location, lovely welcome.
Would definitely stay there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and writing a lovely review. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt so at ease in The Bothy. It was lovely to meet you both and of course, Mila! And we look forward to seeing you all again. With kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASmith711
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spot on”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a 3 night stay at The Bothy near the end of August and enjoyed our stay immensely. The Bothy is perfect for a couple seeking a romantic Highland hideaway which was lucky as that was what we wanted. As other reviews indicate the basics, by way of tea, coffee and milk etc were all present and welcome after a long drive North.

The Bothy was warm and comfortable and the wee kitchen just big enough to make breakfast and in our case we used the oven to heat tapas bought from M&S on one evening.

We were made to feel very welcome by Fiona and she went beyond what you'd consider professional hospitality by posting us back a pair of shoes we had carelessly left in the wardrobe without seeking any recompense. Thanks so much for that, Fiona.

We had a great day out with Highland Caterham and a thoroughly enjoyable outing to Cawdor Castle whilst in the area. We will definitely be back and The Bothy will be at the top of a short list for a place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad that you enjoyed The Bothy and that you would choose to stay with us again. It was no trouble to send your shoes back, these things happen! It was lovely to meet you both and we look forward very much to welcoming you back! With kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmarj
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely wee hideaway”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Perfect little hideaway just a few minutes outside elgin. The room was cosy, and location perfectly silent! Will book again next time we are going tongue area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
I'm so glad you found it cosy and peaceful and that you would come and see us again. It was lovely to meet you both and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Private and peaceful... practically perfect!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A beautiful stone Bothy situated in a very private and peaceful garden. The owners were friendly and welcoming and not at all anxious or intrusive. The place was spotlessly clean and all basic requirements were provided for. It was very generous of the hosts to provide coffee, tea, milk, biscuits, ketchup, mayonnaise and dog towels! We will definitely be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and peacefulness
Liked least: The 2 armchairs were situated too far away from each other to feel close. But that's how the room was shaped.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you would come back and see us again! It was lovely to meet you both and of course your dogs. Thank you for your kind words. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing