We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous wee place, small but perfectly formed”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Jacquelin...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous wee place, small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Fiona was there to greet us on arrival, told us the basics and left us to it, you'd never know you were at the bottom of their garden. The Bothy is small but fully functional, surroundings are beautiful and so peaceful. From the barbecue and patio furniture to the compact but effective kitchenette you have everything you need. The bed was one of the comfiest we've ever slept on away from home too. Dogs had a great time too...though Beau was intrigued by chickens! All in all a great weekend. Would highly recommend. Hope to see you again, same time next year.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a lovely a review for our future guests to see. We are thrilled that you all had a good time in The Bothy! Kindest regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K C
1 review
“'A tranquil and private haven'”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Perfect for a getaway. Lots of privacy. Dog loved it. We loved it. Lots of beaches and trout fisheries locally of high standard. It's accessability to all local amenities and main routes makes it a very attractive base for touring the area - Moray is fantastic for sea-life. This is second time of visiting and certainly will come back.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2017
So lovely of you to write a review - the trout was fabulous, thank you! There is no better recommendation than returning guests and I hope we will be welcoming you again. Kindest regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 May 2017
As visiting this area is a fairly regular date in your diary, I am really hoping that you will stay with us again - it was lovely to meet you and I am always so grateful to my guests for taking the trouble to write a review. I'm thrilled to hear that The Bothy was 'just what you needed' - we look forward to welcoming you for a longer stay next time! Kindest regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 May 2017
I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in The Bothy albeit a very short one! It is lovely that despite only staying for one night you have taken the time to write a review for any future guests to read as I know that they find it very helpful to hear other guests views. Thank you again and I hope we may see you again the future. Kindest regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lumberjac...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little gem”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this quirky place due to reviews and was not disappointed at all Fiona the owner was amazing .cant say I need to write anymore the reviews says it all amazing

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
We were so delighted to see you both making the most of the garden and we are looking forward to welcoming you both back next year for a longer stay! Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review - very grateful. Kindest regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Z5504TRan...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to relax or explore the Malt Whisky Trial”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Whether you are looking to go walking or plan to visit some local distilleries the Bothy is a perfect base. Fiona is great and very helpful host. Thank you!

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
We are always so grateful to our guests when they take the time to write a review, thank you. And we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! Hopefully we will be welcoming you both back in the near the future. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W
Blairgowrie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What can we say that others already haven't?”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

An island of peace and tranquillity. A beautiful place to stay, very cosy and tastefully done out. We sat and sunbathed in the early Spring sunshine, listened to skylarks, watched the deer in the field and relaxed. Beau loved playing with his ball and running up and down in the garden soon tired him out. We will certainly be back, hopefully later in the year. Thank you Fiona for making us welcome.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Well what can I say to such a lovely review.....! Except thank you for taking the time to tell any future guests what you loved about staying with us. We look forward very much to welcoming you all back in the near future. Kindest regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.