We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage, lovely setting and well equipped”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kirktoun Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

14alexpar...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage, lovely setting and well equipped”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were very comfortable from the time we arrived, loved the free range eggs! Bedrooms were nicely decorated. It is in a rural location but walking distance to the nearest pub with food.

Date of stay: September 2015
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Kirktoun Cottage. We really appreciate it. We were pleased to hear that the Duffus Inn (the local pub) has itself received a Trip Advisor Award of Excellence making it well worth the short 5 minute walk from the property for a meal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy H
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good bed”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The house suited us well. The bed was comfy, often a weakness in rentals. It was handy for the dog. We enjoyed a beer in the pub. It was a golf week so th location was important for us. Owner friendly. I'd go again if I was up that way

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed
Liked least: TV reception could be flaky
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thanks for writing us a review. I am really pleased Kirktoun Cottage was a good base for your golfing trip. We would be delighted to welcome you all back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyvert
1 review
“"Brilliant"”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Duffus is an ideal location for touring this beautiful part of Scotland. Caroline was very nice and helpful. The cottage is well equipped and comfortable, the duffus in on youre doorstep is also well worth a visit(mixed grill is incredible). There are plenty of excellent places to eat out in the surrounding towns and villages, some of which even allow dogs in which Meeko our husky was very pleased about. Great beaches and dog walks all around, A walk down to the beautiful duffus castle is a must. We have stayed in many cottages for holidays and Kirktoun is by far the best, the garden is superb for the dog and for just sitting out relaxing. All in all I cannot recommend the cottage enough. Will definitely be making a return trip.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We felt relaxed and at home in comfortable, clean surroundings.
Liked least: Going home.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Date of stay: August 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Hi, thanks for writing us a review. It was lovely to have you stay in Kirktoun Cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us review. I am pleased you found your stay in Kirktoun Cottage so enjoyable. The surrounding area does indeed have many unspoilt forests and beaches to explore - ideal for those wanting a real break from it all in the country.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: That our stay wasnt longer.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jul 2015
I am really pleased you enjoyed your short break in Kirktoun Cottage and thank you for writing us a review. The property is indeed ideal for those bringing their dogs with them. As you discovered, there are many lovely local walks, with many starting straight from the bottom of the garden. We would be delighted to welcome you and your dog back to Duffus again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.